Category: Children's Books

Theodor Storm
Ulrike Möltgen (Illustrator)

Der kleine Häwelmann
[The Little Scamp]

Stories

Children’s classics given new life

Children’s classics are a wonderful means of finding out about new creative tendencies in the art of book illustration. They are republished every few years, and whilst the cues and signals offered by their narratives remain ever the same, the accompanying images are always different as a result of the particular styles and personalities of their illustrators.

Theodor Storm’s Der kleine Häwelmann (Little Scamp), written in 1849, is one such classic that has been illustrated anew many times over. The story is well-known: a little boy who can’t get to sleep one night, despite the best efforts of his mother, ingeniously turns his bed into a kind of boat, using his leg as a mast and his nightshirt as a sail, then sets off on a voyage around the bedroom - until a moonbeam enables him to slip out, first into the town, then into the forest, and finally into the sky.

Even then the little sailor is still not satisfied, demanding more light from the moon, rudely cruising right over his nose, and throwing the stars into confusion, until at last the sun  determinedly puts an end to his overweening exuberance by unceremoniously pitching him into the water, whereupon he is rescued by the narrator - with the help of his young reader.

Even in this fantastic fairy tale, Theodor Storm, the great 19th century Poetic Realist, shows himself to be more realistic than his European contemporaries: there is nothing here of Andersen’s magical melancholy, or Collodi’s bizarreries. Something of a moral can scarcely fail to come across to us as we  read this story: Don’t make excessive demands on the world around you, or you’ll end up with a nasty surprise! - a moral quite similar that of the Grimm brothers’ fairy tale The Fisherman and his Wife.

It took the book illustrator Ulrike Möltgen (born 1973) a good few years to step out of the shadow of her great teacher, Wolf Erlbruch. Erlbruch set himself extremely high standards, and Möltgen has adopted the same approach and turned it to good account in her work. With more than fifty publications to her credit, she now counts as one of Germany’s most renowned children’s book illustrators. Throughout her career she has remained a devotee of collage, making use in her images of paper, cloth, twine, wallpaper and card.

This is her method in Der kleine Häwelmann, too. The illustrations here are characterised by muted colours; the nocturnal mood is created by the use of dark turquoise, dark green, mauve, and plenty of black. Contrasting with this are the little boy with his mop of blond hair, kind ‘Mr Moon’ with his warm light, the golden stars, and the vivid red ground-colour of the two double-page spreads showing the cat lighting up the forest with her bright sparkling eyes.

These collages are angular, creative and highly expressive; they are strong and spirited, not pretty-pretty evocations of fairyland. The moon with his two faces, the the grim demeanour of the exhausted mother, the irksome demands of the little boy, the distorted perspectives and proportions - all of these things go directly against the grain of conventional fairytale imagery. Matter-of-factness and a penchant for abstraction combine here to form magnificent if small-scale visualisations of the action - such a pity that the images aren’t far bigger!

Everywhere throughout the entire world there are screaming children and nerve-wracked parents, and it is for them that this fairytale was first written by Storm and then re-imagined by Möltgen. In the process, an extra dimension of meaning is subtly conveyed to adult readers by Möltgen’s illustrations - a dimension that was perhaps not consciously intended by Storm, but which these days presents itself more or less automatically: children don’t start screaming only when they don’t feel like going to sleep, but also when they are hungry, afraid or in pain - and dreams of a flying bed, of sun, moon and stars, may well give them some comfort in such situations. Let’s hope so!
 
Sylvia Schwab

By Sylvia Schwab, 26.10.2018

​Sylvia Schwab is a radio journalist with a special interest in literature for children and teenagers. She serves on the jury for the monthly ‘Best 7’ list of books for young readers produced under the aegis of Deutschlandfunk and Focus, and works for Hessischer Rundfunk, Deutschlandfunk and Deutschlandradio-Kultur.

Translated by John Reddick

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Theodor Storm
Ulrike Möltgen (Illustrator)

Der kleine Häwelmann

Erzählung

Kinderbuchklassiker runderneuert

Kinderbuchklassiker sind wunderbare Objekte, um gestalterische Tendenzen in der Illustrationskunst zu entdecken. Alle paar Jahre wieder werden sie aufgelegt, und während der Text den Künstlern immer dieselben Anstöße und Signale gibt, verändern sich die Bilder jeweils mit dem Charakter und dem Stil des Illustrators.
 
Auch Theodor Storms „Der kleine Häwelmann“, entstanden 1849, wurde schon unzählige Male neu bebildert. Die Geschichte ist bekannt: ein kleiner Junge kann nachts nicht schlafen, lässt sich auch von seiner Mutter nicht beruhigen und baut sich erfinderisch eine Art Boot aus seinem Bett – mit seinem Bein als Mast und seinem Hemdchen als Segel. Damit macht er sich auf die Reise durchs Zimmer, bis der Mond ihm leuchtet und er hinausfahren kann in die Stadt, in den Wald und bis in den Himmel hinein.
 
Auch dort hat der kleine Segler noch nicht genug, fordert weiter Licht vom Mond, fährt ihm ungezogen über die Nase, bringt die Sterne durcheinander und wird in seinem Übermut erst von der resoluten Sonne gestoppt. Sie wirft ihn kurzerhand ins Wasser, woraus der Erzähler ihn rettet – mit Hilfe des kleinen Lesers.
 
Theodor Storm, der große bürgerliche Realist des 19. Jahrhunderts, bleibt auch in diesem phantastischen Märchen realistischer als seine europäischen Zeitgenossen. Keine zauberische Melancholie wie bei Andersen, keine Skurrilitäten wie bei Collodi. Man kann bzw. muss eine kleine Botschaft mitlesen: Überfordere Deine Umwelt nicht, sonst gibt’s eine kalte Dusche! Eine Moral ähnlich der des Grimmschen Märchens „Vom Fischer und seiner Frau“.
 
Die Bilderbuchkünstlerin Ulrike Möltgen, 1973 geboren, brauchte einige Jahre, um aus dem Schatten ihres großen Lehrers Wolf Erlbruch herauszutreten. Seinen hohen Anspruch an sich selbst hat sie übernommen und produktiv umgesetzt. Inzwischen zählt sie mit über 50 Veröffentlichungen zu den renommierten deutschen Illustratorinnen fürs Kinderbuch. Wobei sie der Collage-Technik treu geblieben ist, Papiere, Tuch, Fäden, Tapeten oder Pappen sind Bestandteil ihrer Bilder.
 
So auch im „Kleinen Häwelmann“, der in gedeckten Farben daherkommt. Viel Schwarz, Dunkel-Türkis, Dunkelgrün und Lila erschaffen die nächtliche Stimmung. Gegenakzente sind der kleine Junge mit dem hellblonden Haarschopf, der „gute Mond“ mit seinem warmen Licht, die goldenen Sterne und zwei leuchtend rot grundierte Doppelseiten mit der Katze, die mit ihren funkelnden Augen den Wald illuminiert.
 
Kantig, kreativ und künstlerisch ausdrucksstark sind diese Collagen. Nicht niedlich-märchenhaft, sondern kraft- und schwungvoll. Der doppelgesichtige Mond, die müde-grimmige Mutter und der nervig-fordernde Bengel, die verschobenen Proportionen und Perspektiven - sie bürsten das Image des Kunstmärchens gegen den poetischen Strich. Sachlichkeit und die Tendenz zur Abstraktion verbinden sich in großartigen kleinen Inszenierungen – schade wirklich, dass diese Bilder nicht viel größer sind!
 
Schreiende Kinder und genervte Eltern gibt es überall auf der Welt. Für sie ist dieses Märchen geschrieben und neu gestaltet. Wobei sich dem erwachsenen Betrachter ganz leise noch eine zweite Ebene öffnet, die Storm wohl nicht mitbedacht hat, die man heute aber fast automatisch einbezieht: Dass Kinder nicht nur schreien, wenn sie keine Lust haben zu schlafen. Sondern auch, weil sie Hunger haben oder Schmerzen oder Angst. Auf sie mag der Traum vom fahrenden Bettchen, von Sonne, Mond und Sternen vielleicht doch ein wenig beruhigend wirken. Hoffentlich!
 
Sylvia Schwab

Von Sylvia Schwab, 26.10.2018

​Sylvia Schwab ist Hörfunkjournalistin und hat sich auf Kinder- und Jugendliteratur spezialisiert. Sie ist Jurorin bei den "Besten 7" von Deutschlandfunk und Focus und arbeitet für den Hessischen Rundfunk, den Deutschlandfunk und Deutschlandradio-Kultur.