Category: Non-fiction

Heike B. Görtemaker
Hitlers Hofstaat. Der innere Kreis im Dritten Reich und danach
[Hitler’s Court: The Führer’s Inner Circle in the Third Reich and Afterward]

Hitler’s Substitute Family

Hitler’s associates and confidantes – who were these people actually? What role did they play in the networks of power in Third Reich? The lives of the leading Nazis have all been thoroughly researched, and several significant biographies of Hitler have been written. Now, for the first time, historian Heike B. Görtemaker has systematically analyzed the circle of people closest to Hitler personally. In 2010, Görtemaker published the first biography of Eva Braun, Hitler’s longtime unofficial consort, who of course puts in frequent appearances in this new book. It’s called Hitler’s Court – a fitting title – and for it, the author combed the archives, unearthing little-known sources. The result is a fascinating narrative full of enlightening details illustrating what everyday life was like at the top of a criminal regime.
 
Görtemaker distinguishes between two phases of Hitler’s inner circle: before and after 1933. Hitler’s rise over the course of the 1920s was made possible by the support of important  members of the high society back then. Hitler was just one of many figures who cropped on Germany’s jingoist-racist völkisch scene after the revolution of 1918, but early on he found influential patrons. The publishing couple Hugo and Elsa Bruckmann and the piano makers Erwin and Helene Bechstein enthusiastically financed the penniless rabble-rouser, who quickly became the leader of strange fringe political party, the NSDAP. A few weeks before the failed “Beer Hall Putsch” in November 1923, Hitler met Winifred Wagner and the racist ideologue Houston Stewart Chamberlain in Bayreuth, and Elsa, Helene and Winifred became some of Hitler’s most loyal fans. They visited him frequently during his time in prison, paid for his later apartment in Munich, equipped him with clothes and tableware and provided him with access to better classes of people. Readers cannot help but be horrified at how obsessed these cultured, anti-Semitic society doyens were about making the fledgling fanatic respectable enough for the Bavarian capital’s well-heeled salons.

The other members of Hitler’s entourage were highly disparate figures including fanatic Nazis like Rudolf Hess, paramilitary organizers like SA head Ernst Röhm (whose 1934 murder marked a caesura for the circle), the loyal “fighter from the old days” Hermann Esser, who later recalled having lunch everyday with Hitler for 30 pfennigs at a soup kitchen, blowhards like Ernst Hanfstaengl and, perhaps most importantly, Hitler’s personal photographer, Heinrich Hoffmann, whom he met in 1921. Hoffmann’s pictorial ideas created the visual mythology surrounding the Führer. By 1930 Hitler had become a highly modern political campaigner, and Hoffmann created much of the propaganda that eventually helped Hitler gain power. In 1932, when Hoffmann’s daughter Henriette married Baldur von Schirach, Hitler and Röhm served as witnesses – a function Hitler performed frequently for people associated with his circle.
 
But by 1933 or 1934, the inner circle changed. Hitler, who had always liked the region around Berchtesgaden, constructed an Alpine residence there, the Berghof. Once his regime had been consolidated, he increasingly retreated to the Obersalzberg mountain. The Berghof community became a kind of ersatz family, consisting of Hoffmann’s former assistant Eva Braun, Braun’s sisters, and other figures old and new. Before long, the international press was publishing pictorial spreads of the German dictator’s retreat. Series of Hoffmann’s photos ran in Vogue and the New York Times Magazine. But domestically, Hitler was to remain the solitary, self-sacrificing Führer of internal propaganda, and great care was taken to see that no information on Hitler’s circle – least of all about Eva Braun – leaked out into the public at large. Hitler grew increasingly close to the architect Albert Speer, whom he considered an artistic soulmate, and his personal physicians Karl Brandt and Theodor Morell. Whenever Hitler needed company, this court of followers hastened from Berlin and Munich to the Berghof.

Hitler’s adjutant Nicolaus von Below later characterized the pre-war years on the Obersalzberg as the “best of his life.” With great virtuosity, Görtemaker describes the chaos of the final days of the regime between the Führer’s bunker in Berlin and the Berghof, where another adjutant, Julius Schaub, burned Hitler’s papers on the terrace.

After 1945, the surviving principles immediately set about trying to obscure the past. Whether they were adjutants, physicians or secretaries, everyone from Speer to Hoffmann tried to present him- or herself as an apolitical underling who had known nothing about the Holocaust. Görtemaker minutely reconstructs a very different picture of Hitler’s former inner circle, all of whose members were committed Nazis, often for many years. They were accomplices and people in the know who had been part of the autocrat’s everyday existence and had remained loyal to the “boss” through his final days in the bunker and beyond. Many of the surviving members of the Berghof society remained in constant contact with one another in post-war West Germany.
Nicolaus von Below died in 1983, and his son later recalled the children growing up within their father’s “system.” Hitler’s long shadow extended well into post-war democratic West Germany.
Vorname Name

By Alexander Cammann, 09.06.2020

Translated by Jefferson Chase

Sparte: Sachbuch

Heike B. Görtemaker
Hitlers Hofstaat. Der innere Kreis im Dritten Reich und danach

Hitlers Ersatzfamilie

Mitarbeiter und Vertrauter von Adolf Hitler: Wer war das eigentlich? Und welche Rollen spielten sie im Machtgefüge des „Dritten Reiches“? Die Lebensgeschichten der wichtigsten NS-Führungsfiguren wurden bereits gründlich erforscht; über Hitler selbst gibt es mehrere bedeutende Biographien. Jetzt hat die Historikerin Heike B. Görtemaker erstmals den engsten Kreis um Hitler systematisch durchleuchtet. 2010 veröffentlichte sie die erste Biographie von Eva Braun, Hitlers langjähriger inoffizieller Lebensgefährtin; sie hat naturgemäß auch im neuen Buch ihre Auftritte. „Hitlers Hofstaat“ heißt es treffend, die Autorin hat dafür noch einmal Archive durchforstet, bislang kaum bekannte Quellen aufgetan. Es ist eine spannende Erzählung voller aufschlussreicher Details geworden, die den Alltag an der Spitze eines verbrecherischen Systems offenbart.
 
Görtemaker unterscheidet zwei Phasen für den inneren Kreis um Hitler: vor und nach 1933. Tatsächlich wurde der Aufstieg Hitlers im Laufe der zwanziger Jahre ganz wesentlich von anderen Figuren in die Wege geleitet. Als einer von vielen war Hitler nach der Revolution von 1918 in der völkischen Bewegung aufgetaucht, aber schon früh auf einflussreiche Förderer gestoßen. Das Verlegerpaar Hugo und Elsa Bruckmann finanzierte ebenso wie die Klavierfabrikanten Edwin und Helene Bechstein begeistert den mittellosen Agitator, alsbald Chef einer skurrilen Splitterpartei namens NSDAP; wenige Wochen vor seinem gescheiterten Putschversuch im November 1923 lernte Hitler in Bayreuth Winifred Wagner und den Rasseideologen Houston Stewart Chamberlain kennen. Elsa, Helene und Winifred wurden treue Fans: Sie besuchten Hitler während seiner Festungshaft, finanzierten später seine Münchner Wohnung, statteten ihn mit Kleidung und Tischservice aus und organisierten ihm den Zugang zu den besseren Kreisen. Immer wieder erschreckend ist es, wie besessen antisemitisches Kulturbürgertum diesen Radikalen gesellschaftsfähig machte.

Zu Hitlers Entourage gehörten ansonsten höchst unterschiedliche Gestalten: fanatische Nationalsozialisten wie Rudolf Hess, militante Organisatoren wie SA-Chef Ernst Röhm (dessen Ermordung 1934 zum Einschnitt für den engeren Zirkel werden sollte), Hermann Esser, treuer „alter Kämpfer“, der sich später erinnerte, wie er einst täglich mit Hitler für 30 Pfennige in der Volksküche zu Mittag aß, windige Figuren wie Ernst Hanfstaengl und vor allem Heinrich Hoffmann, Hitlers „Leibfotograph“ seit 1921. Seine kreativen Bildideen schufen den visuellen Hitler-Mythos, machten den NSDAP-Führer spätestens 1930 zum hochmodernen Wahlkampfartikel und verhalfen ihm propagandistisch zur Machtergreifung. Bei der Hochzeit seiner Tochter Henriette mit Baldur von Schirach im Jahr 1932 waren Hitler und Röhm Trauzeugen (ein Amt, das Hitler oft im Kreis ausübte).

Nach 1933/34 änderte sich der innere Kreis. Hitler, der die Gegend um Berchtesgaden schon immer mochte, baute sich dort alsbald eine Alpenresidenz, den Berghof. Mit der Konsolidierung des Regimes zog er sich immer länger auf den Obersalzberg zurück, die Berghof-Gemeinschaft wurde zu einer Ersatzfamilie: mit Eva Braun, Hoffmanns einstiger Fotolaborantin, deren Schwestern, mit alten und neuen Gestalten. Bald wurde in der internationalen Presse über das Refugium des deutschen Machthabers berichtet, unter anderem mit Fotostrecken von Hoffmann in der „Vogue“ und dem „New York Times Magazine“. Für die Öffentlichkeit blieb Hitler dennoch der propagandistisch inszenierte einsame Führer, über seine Ersatzfamilie – und schon gar nicht über Eva – sollte nichts nach draußen dringen. Hitlers persönliches Nahverhältnis zum Architekten Albert Speer, in dem er einen künstlerischen Seelenverwandten sah, sowie zu den Ärzten Karl Brandt und Theodor Morell wuchs. Wenn der Führer Gesellschaft brauchte, eilte der Hofstaat aus Berlin oder München zum Berghof.

Als „die schönste Zeit seines Lebens“ empfand Hitlers Adjutant Nicolaus von Below seine Vorkriegszeit auf dem Obersalzberg im Rückblick. Virtuos schildert Görtemaker das Chaos der letzten Tage des Regimes, zwischen Führerbunker und Berghof, wo ein anderer Adjutant, Julius Schaub, Hitlers Unterlagen auf der Terrasse verbrannte.

Nach 1945 setzte das große Vertuschen ein. Ob Adjutanten, Ärzte oder Sekretärinnen, ob Speer oder Hoffmann: Alle präsentierten sich als unpolitische Chargen, die nichts vom Holocaust gewusst hätten. Görtemaker rekonstruiert minutiös ein anderes Bild des Kreises: Allesamt waren es oft langjährige ideologisch überzeugte NSDAP-Mitglieder, Täter und Mitwisserinnen, im Herrschaftsalltag überall dabei, dem „Chef“ treu ergeben bis in den Führerbunker 1945 – und darüber hinaus. Viele Überlebende des Berghof-Kreises blieben im ständigen Austausch untereinander. Nicolaus von Below starb 1983 – sein Sohn berichtet, wie die Kinder bis dahin im „System“ des Vaters aufwuchsen. Hitlers langer Schatten, mitten in der Bundesrepublik.
Vorname Name

Von Alexander Cammann, 09.06.2020