Category: Non-fiction

Stephan Lessenich
Grenzen der Demokratie. Teilhabe als Verteilungsproblem
[The Limits of Democracy. Participation as a problem of distribution]

Non-Fiction

For a New Culture of Solidarity

There is no better way to describe Germany’s path to ‘westernisation’ than Stephan Lessenich does: ‘The journey starts with the authoritarian, yet in some ways proto-democratic Empire, followed by the first, albeit ill-fated, democracy on German soil. Democracy’s path then travels, briefly interrupted by the Nazis and temporarily accompanied by the illegitimate state of the East German SED dictatorship, to the war-chastened Bonn Republic, contained by Europe. And on it marches, ultimately manifesting itself as a reunified, self-confident Berlin Republic in which German democracy finally reaches its full bloom. If only it were not for those old-school GDR nostalgics in the East. If only this peak of democratic history had not coincided with the triumph of neoliberalism. And if only those suffering from the new free-market radicalism did not increasingly turn out to be such backward-looking right-wing populists, disappointed by democracy.’

This narrative is driven forward by two dynamics: a narrative of democratic progress on the one hand, and the assertion of democratic decadence on the other. Both can be found among Colin Crouch’s today famous theses on the status of Western democracy. Against the backdrop of increasingly surging effects of globalisation and digitalisation, his book, Post-Democracy, published in 2004, certainly struck a chord. Under the auspices of the neocons, according to Crouch, the ‘golden age’ of democracy is a thing of the past. Stephan Lessenich now traces the parabola of decline to carve out the dialectics of democracy itself. The notion that there actually ever was such a ‘golden age’ must, in his view, necessarily blank out the fact that democratisation has always been a struggle for entitlement and participation.

At first it was the bourgeoisie which, emboldened by its economic indispensability for the nation, aspired to political participation. Subsequently, workers also demanded their voice to be heard. Just as an aside: a universal holiday entitlement—granting workers a ‘citizen status’—was not codified in West German law until 1963. After the women’s movement had fought for the women’s vote, various minorities struggled for inclusion on the democratic playing field. If we conceive of democracy as a process of expanding spaces of entitlement, democracy can be best grasped as a grand inclusion machine. However, this expansion has always occurred in the spirit of competition. For a long time, the great civic levelling represented a profitable deal between capital and labour. As it were, it was the western industrial nations’ mainstream culture: ‘It is only logical, then, that citizens in the competitive society, once they have brought themselves to safety, intone the all too familiar slogan of the privileged: “The boat is full!”’

Against this backdrop, Stephan Lessenich calls for a radical expansion of civil and electoral rights. He regards the slogan of the ‘full boat’ not as a crisis symptom, but rather as a programming error of democracy itself. When more and more people start fearing for their own privileges, there remains little leeway for generosity in terms of tolerance for the participation of others. The ‘limits of democracy’ become increasingly narrower when immigrants or refugees aspire to become part of the local democratic community. Viktor Orbán’s announcement in the summer of 2016 to have sealed off Hungary’s border with Serbia ‘hermetically’ is the embodiment of this ‘practice of reaction’.

What is manifest today is thus the performative self-contradiction of modern democracies. Guaranteeing their own survival through the exclusion of others does not correspond to their self-image. Nor would liberal circles admit that freedom is threatening to increasingly become a status symbol of a few who are entitled to access. Whatever is outside right now, should remain outside. In this logic, nature necessarily becomes the Other which lies outside of democratic bounds and can therefore, just like cheap labour forces in non-democratic countries, be harnessed as a resource for western democracy. In this context, Lessenich sees structural violence at work, something righteous democrats in this part of the world prefer not to know about. In short: democracy increasingly comes at a price paid by those who cannot afford democracy.

Half a century ago, American science historian Lynn White asked with regard to the ecological crisis whether a democratic culture would be able to survive its own consequences. Similarly, Lessenich believes that this survival can only be achieved if democracy reinvents itself. Incidentally, the welfare-state compromise has been abandoned by the capital side as it is. Globalisation and liberalisation, Lessenich argues, have liberated the owners of capital from the ‘social shackles’ almost silently. The consequences include experiences of degradation among the middle classes and constitute a gateway for right-wing rabble-rousers!

 At the same time, an awareness of the problems and the readiness for protest are rising throughout society. Lessenich wants to make use of this momentum: solidarity, however, must be retrieved from the corner of harmless terms and turned into a political battle cry. The implication is a relinquishment of privilege, allowing for the preservation of nature just as much as for a functioning community. ‘The very first real utopia of an altered democratic border regime would therefore have to be the guarantee of the political electoral right for all those who populate the political community—regardless of whether they have “always lived here”, whether they are migrants with non-German citizenship of the first, second or whatever generation or whether they were rescued from the Mediterranean and taken to—at that point in the true sense of the word—a safe haven only yesterday.’ At this point, this remarkable short piece turns from being a social-scientific survey into a left-wing polemic pursuing no less than the salvation of democracy—before others gleefully become its gravediggers.
Katharina Teutsch

By Katharina Teutsch, 03.03.2020

​Katharina Teutsch is a journalist and critic. She writes for newspapers and magazines such as: the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Tagesspiegel, die Zeit, PhilosophieMagazin and for Deutschlandradio Kultur.

Translated by Jan-Peter Herrmann

Sparte: Sachbuch

Stephan Lessenich
Grenzen der Demokratie. Teilhabe als Verteilungsproblem

Sachbuch

Für eine neue Kultur der Solidarität

Besser als Stephan Lessenich kann man die deutsche Westwerdung nicht beschreiben: „Vom autoritären, aber doch auch protodemokratischen Kaiserreich über die erste, von Anbeginn unter einem schlechten Stern stehende Demokratie auf deutschem Boden zog der Treck, kurzfristig aufgehalten durch die Schergen des Naziregimes und zeitweilig begleitet durch den Unrechtsstaat der SED-Diktatur, über die kriegsgeläuterte und europapolitisch eingehegte Bonner hin zur wiedervereinigten, selbstbewussten Berliner Republik, in der die deutsche Demokratie endlich zu sich kommt. Wenn da nur nicht noch einige ewiggestrige DDR-Nostalgiker*innen im Osten verblieben wären. Wenn dieser Höhepunkt der Demokratiegeschichte nicht unseligerweise mit dem einsetzenden Siegeszug des Neoliberalismus zusammengefallen wäre. Und wenn die vom neuen Marktradikalismus Geschädigten sich nicht zunehmend als von der real existierenden Demokratie enttäuschte, wiedergestrige Rechtspopulist*innen entpuppen würden.“
 
Diese Erzählung wird gleich von zwei Dynamiken vorangetrieben: von einer demokratischen Fortschrittserzählung einerseits und von einer Dekadenzbehauptung andererseits. Beides findet sich in Colin Crouchs inzwischen berühmt gewordenen Thesen zum Status der westlichen Demokratien. Sein 2004 erschienenes Buch Post-Democray traf mit den immer deutlicher heranbrandenden Effekten von Globalisierung und Digitalisierung einen Nerv. Das „goldene Zeitalter“ der Demokratie, so Crouch, sei unter den Auspizien der Neocons passé. Stephan Lessenich nimmt die Verfallsparabel jetzt zum Anlass, die Dialektik der Demokratie selbst herauszuarbeiten. Denn die Vorstellung, es habe ein „goldenes Zeitalter“ gegeben, muss notwendig ausblenden, dass Demokratisierung immer schon ein Ringen um Teilhabe war.
 
Zuerst war es das Bürgertum, das aufgrund seiner wirtschaftlichen Unverzichtbarkeit für die Nation um politische Teilhabe rang. Später wollten die Arbeiter ihr Mitspracherecht. Kleine Nebenbemerkung: Erst 1963 wurde in der BRD ein allgemeiner Urlaubsanspruch gesetzlich fixiert, um auch den „einfachen Leuten“ Bürgerstatus zuzusprechen. Mit der Frauenbewegung kam das Frauenwahlrecht ins Spiel. Und verschiedene Minderheiten fochten ihre Inklusionskämpfe auf demokratischem Terrain aus. Wenn man sie als einen Prozess sich ausdehnender Berechtigungsräume begreift, ist Demokratie eine große Inklusionsmaschine. Ausdehnung geschieht hier aber immer schon im Geist der Konkurrenz. Denn die große Gleichmachung bestand die längste Zeit aus einem einträglichen Deal zwischen Kapital und Arbeit. Wenn man so will, war das die Leitkultur der westlichen Industrienationen. „Nur logisch, dass die Bürger*innen der Konkurrenzgesellschaft, kaum dass sie sich selbst in Sicherheit gebracht zu haben meinen, den nur allzu bekannten Wahlspruch der Privilegierten anstimmen: ‚Das Boot ist voll!’.“
 
Stephan Lessenich plädiert vor diesem Hintergrund für eine radikale Ausweitung von Bürger- und Wahlrechten. Denn die Parole vom vollen Boot ist kein Krisensymptom, sondern ein Programmierfehler des Demokratischen selbst. Wenn immer mehr Menschen nämlich um ihre Privilegien fürchten, wird es mit der Großzügigkeit in Sachen Beteiligungstoleranz eng. Die „Grenzen der Demokratie“ werden immer enger, wenn Einwandernde oder Geflüchtete sich anschicken, Teil des örtlichen demokratischen Gemeinwesens werden zu wollen. Viktor Orbáns Ankündigung aus dem Sommer 2016, Ungarns Grenze zu Serbien „luftdicht“ verschlossen zu haben, steht für diese „Praxis der Reaktion“.
 
Sichtbar wird jetzt der performative Selbstwiderspruch moderner Demokratien. Es entspricht nämlich nicht ihrem Selbstbild, den eigenen Erhalt durch Ausschlusspraxis zu garantieren. Noch weniger möchte man sich gerade in liberalen Kreisen eingestehen, dass Freiheit immer mehr zum Statussymbol weniger Zugangsberechtigter zu werden droht. Was jetzt draußen ist, soll draußen bleiben. Die Natur ist in dieser Logik das notwendig außerhalb des demokratischen Zugriffs liegende Andere und kann ebenso wie billige Arbeitskräfte in nichtdemokratischen Staaten als Ressource für die westliche Demokratie genutzt werden. Lessenich sieht darin strukturelle Gewalt am Werk, von der gute Demokraten hierzulande lieber nichts wissen wollen. Verkürzt könnte man sagen: Demokratie hat zunehmend einen Preis, den diejenigen zahlen, die sich eine Demokratie nicht leisten können.
 
Der US-amerikanische Wissenschaftshistoriker Lynn White fragte bereits vor einem halben Jahrhundert mit Blick auf die Ökokrise, ob eine demokratische Kultur ihre eigenen Konsequenzen überleben könne. Wie er, meint Lessenich, könne dies nur gelingen, wenn die Demokratie sich neu erfinde. Der wohlfahrtsstaatliche Kompromiss sei von Kapitalseite ohnehin aufgekündigt worden. Globalisierung und Liberalisierung hätten die Kapitaleigner nämlich fast geräuschlos von ihrer „Sozialfessel“ befreit. Daraus folgende Deklassierungserfahrungen der Mittelschicht sind ein Einfallstor für rechte Brandstifter!
 
Gleichzeitig wachsen aber auch Problembewusstsein und Protestbereitschaft in der Gesellschaft. Lessenich will dieses Momentum nutzen: Solidarität muss aus der Ecke für harmlose Begriffe heraus und politischer Kampfbegriff werden. Gemeint ist damit ein Verzicht auf Privilegien. Das betrifft den Erhalt der Natur ebenso wie den eines funktionierenden Gemeinwesens. „Die allererste Realutopie eines veränderten demokratischen Grenzregimes müsste daher die institutionelle Garantie des politischen Wahlrechts für alle sein, die das politische Gemeinwesen bevölkern – unabhängig davon, ob sie ‚immer schon’ hier gelebt haben, ob sie Migrant*innen nicht-deutscher Staatsbürgerschaft der ersten, zweiten oder x-ten Generation sind, oder ob sie erst gestern in Seenot aus dem Mittelmeer gerettet und in den – dann wirklich – schützenden Hafen einer neuen Heimat gebracht wurden.“ So wandelt sich diese bemerkenswerte kleine Schrift vom sozialwissenschaftlichen Überblickswerk zur linken Kampfschrift, die sich nichts Geringeres als die Rettung der Demokratie auf die Fahnen geschrieben hat – bevor andere sich händereibend zu ihren Totengräbern machen.
 
Katharina Teutsch

Von Katharina Teutsch, 03.03.2020

​Katharina Teutsch ist Journalistin und Kritikerin und schreibt unter anderem für die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, den Tagesspiegel, die Zeit, das PhilosophieMagazin und Deutschlandradio Kultur.