Category: Children's Books

Reinhard Kleist
Knock Out! Die Geschichte von Emile Griffith
[Knock out! The story of Emile Griffith]

Graphic Novel

The Gentle Fighter

The very first few pages pull the reader in with slender, vertical images depicting the back of an old, typically New York apartment building. A movie-like pan artistically carries the eye to a door on the ground-floor: A male figure emerges, swaying drunkenly along the alleyway. Over the following pages we see him ambushed by young thugs who have cowardly lain in wait: A black man coming out of a gay bar? They don't like that. That the old man in question was once a world famous – and equally notorious – boxer doesn't help him much in this situation. He's brutally beaten.
 
The exposition is typical of the style of Berlin-based graphic novel artist Reinhard Kleist. The reader is reminded of the classic black-and-white film noir aesthetic of American cinema. Kleist trenchantly sketches the framework plot of the central character, a broken hero, before deploying the central flashback that traces the most important points of the life of the black boxer Emile Griffith (1938–2013). At an early age, the young man is working in a hat store when his powerful stature leads him to be introduced to the boxing trainer Mr. Clancy – who soon arranges his first fight.

Griffith's most traumatic experience dates back to 1962 when he injured the reigning welterweight world campion Benny Paret so badly that Paret fell into a coma and died in the hospital a few days later. It was the first fatal boxing match to be broadcast live on television.

Despite having been an accident, Emile Griffith bore the guilt of it for his whole life, and Kleist personifies this guilt in the form of the recurring, nighttime "demon" that visits Griffith in difficult times.
 
Having grown up in the U.S. Virgin Islands in the Caribbean, Griffith began his boxing career at a young age. This despite his gentle nature and a passion for designing women's hats. The graphic novel adaptation of his impressive life touchingly shows how torn a homosexual man in the boxing world of the sixties had to be. Despite many problems, concessions, stigmatisms, and low blows, Griffith kept getting back up and eventually managed to live his life how he wanted: openly gay but not demonstratively so. He did not join the burgeoning gay rights movement in the U.S.A.
 
Born in 1970, Reinhard Kleist made his name early with graphic novel adaptations of the biographies of famous artists such as Johnny Cash (Cash – I See a Darkness, 2006) and Nick Cave (Mercy on Me, 2017), as well as of Fidel Castro (Castro, 2010). For many years he has been one the most important German graphic novel artists and storytellers. With The Boxer (2012) he already demonstrated how to transport the fascination for boxing into the graphic novel form. This tells the story of the Polish Jew Hertzko Haft who used his talent for boxing to survive the German concentration camps. Deploying expressive, high-contrast inking and a simple narrative style, Knock Out is once again an exciting, psychologically accurate character study of a boxer whose image has been, to this day, unjustly reduced to that of a murderer.
Ralph Trommer

By Ralph Trommer, 29.01.2020

Ralph Trommer, Dipl. Animator, is a freelance writer and artist who is a regular contributor of reviews and articles on comics, graphic novels and films for a variety of media.

Translated by Michael Waaler

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Reinhard Kleist
Knock Out! Die Geschichte von Emile Griffith

Graphic Novel

Der sanfte Fighter

Schon die ersten Seiten ziehen den Leser in ihren Bann: schmale, vertikale Bilder deuten die Hinterseite eines alten, typischen New Yorker Wohnblocks an. Ein filmischer Schwenk wird zeichnerisch simuliert, zu einer Tür im Erdgeschoss – eine männliche Gestalt kommt heraus und wankt betrunken durch die Gasse. Auf den kommenden Seiten fällt sie jugendlichen Schlägern zum Opfer, die ihr feige aufgelauert haben: Ein Schwarzer, der aus einer Schwulenbar kommt? Das passt ihnen beides nicht. Dass dieser ältere Mann einmal ein weltberühmter - und ebenso berüchtigter - Boxer war, hilft ihm in dieser Situation nicht weiter. Er wird zusammengeschlagen.
 
Die Exposition ist typisch für den Stil des Berliner Comiczeichners Reinhard Kleist. Ästhetisch fühlt man sich an klassische, schwarzweiße Film noirs des US-Kinos erinnert. Pointiert skizziert Kleist in der Rahmenhandlung den zentralen Charakter, einen gebrochenen Helden, bevor dann der zentrale Flashback einsetzt, der die wichtigsten Lebenslinien des schwarzen Boxers Emile Griffith (1938-2013) nachzeichnet. Früh wird der in einem Hutgeschäft arbeitende Junge wegen seiner kräftigen Statur dem Boxtrainer Mr. Clancy vorgestellt, der ihm schon bald seinen ersten Kampf besorgt.

Griffiths traumatisches Erlebnis datiert auf 1962: im Boxring verletzte er Benny Paret, den amtierenden Weltmeister im Weltergewicht, so stark, dass dieser ins Koma fiel und Tage darauf im Krankenhaus verstarb. Es war der erste tödlich ausgehende Boxkampf, der live im Fernsehen übertragen wurde.
Obwohl es ein Unfall war, hatte Emile Griffith zeit seines Lebens an dieser Schuld zu tragen – Kleist personifiziert diese Schuld in einem wiederkehrenden nächtlichen „Dämon“, der Griffith in schweren Stunden aufsucht.
 
Auf den karibischen Jungferninseln aufgewachsen, machte Griffith früh Karriere als Boxer, doch eigentlich war er eher ein sanftmütiger Charakter, der es liebte, Damenhüte zu entwerfen. Die Comicadaption dieses beeindruckenden Lebens zeigt auf berührende Weise, wie zerrissen ein homosexueller Mann im Boxgeschäft in den 1960er Jahren gewesen sein muss. Trotz vieler Probleme, trotz Zugeständnissen, Stigmatisierungen und Tiefschlägen, kam Griffith immer wieder auf die Beine und schaffte es schließlich, so zu leben, wie er wollte: offen schwul, aber nicht demonstrativ – für die aufkeimende Schwulenbewegung in den USA setzte er sich nicht ein.
 
Der 1970 geborene Reinhard Kleist hat sich früh mit Comicbiografien berühmter Musiker wie Johnny Cash („Cash - I see a Darkness“, 2006) oder Nick Cave („Mercy on me“, 2017) wie auch Fidel Castros („Castro“, 2010) einen Namen gemacht und gehört seit langem zu den wichtigsten deutschen Comiczeichnern und -erzählern. Bereits vor Jahren hat er bewiesen, dass sich die Faszination für den Boxsport auch in einen Comic übertragen lässt: In der Graphic Novel „Der Boxer“ (2012) porträtierte er den polnischen Juden Hertzko Haft, der es durch sein Box-Talent schaffte, in deutschen Konzentrationslagern zu überleben. Mittels seines expressiven, kontrastreichen Tuschestils und einer schnörkellosen Erzählweise gelingt dem Zeichner in „Knock Out“ erneut eine spannende, psychologisch genau erzählte Charakterstudie eines Boxers, der bis heute zu Unrecht auf das Image eines „Mörders“ reduziert wird.
Ralph Trommer

Von Ralph Trommer, 29.01.2020

Ralph Trommer, Dipl. Animator, freier Autor und Künstler, schreibt für verschiedene Medien regelmäßig Rezensionen und Fachartikel über Comics, Graphic Novels und Filme.