Schnelleinstieg: Go directly to contentGo directly to first-level navigationGo directly to language navigation

Book cover the dog is always hungry

Anja Kampmann der hund ist immer hungrig
[the dog is always hungry]

Translation Grant Programme
For this title we provide support for translation into the Italian language (2022 - 2024).

Sleeping dogs in the anthropocene

‘es war das jahr’ (‘that was the year’) is the title of the poem that serves as a prologue to the five sequences of poems that follow it. The year in question is 1348, when a massive earthquake occurred in Friuli. A few weeks later the plague erupted in northern Italy and soon spread to Avignon, the seat of the exiled Pope. The opening poem depicts Pope Clemens VI surviving the pestilence seated between a pair of fires (‘fear glowed all around him’). But it is clear beyond doubt that this historical scene is only there to serve as a metaphor for the murderous pandemic that hit the modern world in the same year in which this second book by Anja Kampmann was being written. The cover shows part of a fresco in the papal palace’s Salle de Chasse depicting a huntsman and his dog. The title of the collection as a whole is ‘the dog is always hungry’, and the poem in which this line occurs leads directly into a horror scenario very much of our time: a landscape in Canada ravaged by the fracking industry.

Anja Kampmann, born in Hamburg in 1983 and now based in Leipzig, came blazing into the world of contemporary German literature like a shooting star. Her debut publication in 2016, the poetry collection Proben von Stein und Licht (‘Samples of stone and light’), attracted much attention; two years later came a novel, Wie hoch die Wasser steigen, the American edition of which (High as the Waters Rise) made it onto the shortlist for the National Book Award. In Germany too she has received numerous awards and prize nominations, and is represented in all the major anthologies of contemporary German poetry.

A significant number of Kampmann’s new poems could be described as obituaries to  nature as more and more of it is lost. She focuses on the ubiquitous traces that human beings have inflicted on the planet, on the depredations, spectacular and insidious alike, of the anthropocene era. She writes about cloned animals and Chinese gene experiments, waste products and asphalt, industrial parks and erosion zones, chemical pollution from factories along the Danube, the slaughter of bats by the rotor blades of wind turbines, the relentless retreat of perma-frost, unsuspecting dogs asleep at petrol stations, and campaigns to get rid of moles. She also writes about places she knew during her childhood and youth in the fog-bound north of Germany, where she not only finds personal memories, none of them the least bit idyllic, but also reminders of German war crimes.

Kampmann sticks resolutely to observation and depiction, and never slips into analysis, polemics or moralising. Distanced but never without empathy, her perspective is characterised by a cool melancholy, and in its manner of dwelling on apocalyptic events it evinces a special kind of beauty, an aesthetic at once austere and calm that makes the terror accessible to us without at the same time diminishing its impact. It could serve as a kind of political poetry well suited to our age: it does not agitate, it simply bids us see, and its restrained, almost parenthetic air of disapprobation brings the extent of the devastation home to us more powerfully than strident recriminations could do in our current circumstances.

These poems seem predestined for translation into other langugaes, as they dispense with rhyme, metre and other formal poetic effects, and rely instead on the expressive force of the imagery and the associative potential of the words. They thus amount to a kind of prose poetry with their sometimes fractured syntax and their organic rather than formalistic line breaks, together with a total avoidance of capitalisation and near-total avoidance of punctuation. Both their matter and their mood will surely lend themselves to translation into any language whatever without suffering the slightest diminution of their impact.
 

Translated by John Reddick

Book cover the dog is always hungry

By Kristina Maidt-Zinke

Kristina Maidt-Zinke is a book and music critic at the Süddeutsche Zeitung and also writes reviews for Die Zeit.

Schnelleinstieg: Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)
Sparte: Belletristik

Anja Kampmann

der hund ist immer hungrig

Gedichte

Schlafende Hunde im Anthropozän

„es war das jahr“ heißt das Gedicht, das hier wie ein Prolog den folgenden fünf Zyklen vorgeschaltet ist:  Die Rede ist vom Jahr 1348, in dem sich ein heftiges Erdbeben im Friaul ereignete. Wenige Wochen später brach in Norditalien die Pest aus, die bald auch Avignon erreichte, den Sitz der päpstlichen Exilresidenz. Das Eröffnungsgedicht malt aus, wie Papst Clemens VI., zwischen zwei Feuern sitzend („um ihn leuchtete die angst“), die Seuche überlebte. Aber es besteht kein Zweifel daran, dass die historische Szene nur als Metapher dient für das pandemische Unheil, das im Entstehungsjahr dieses zweiten Lyrikbandes von Anja Kampmann die moderne Welt erfasste. Auf dem Einband ist ein Fresko aus dem Jagdzimmer des Papstpalastes abgebildet, das einen Jäger mit Hund zeigt. der hund ist immer hungrig  lautet der Titel der Sammlung, und das Gedicht, aus dem die Zeile stammt, führt in ein höchst aktuelles Horrorszenario,  eine von der Fracking-Industrie zerstörte Landschaft in Kanada.
Anja Kampmann, 1983 in Hamburg geboren und in Leipzig lebend, gilt als Shootingstar der neueren  deutschen Literatur. Mit dem Gedichtband  Proben von Stein und Licht hatte sie 2016 ihr vielbeachtetes Debüt; zwei Jahre später folgte der Roman Wie hoch die Wasser steigen, der in der amerikanischen Übersetzung auf die Shortlist des National Book Award 2020 gelangte. Sie wurde auch hierzulande mit zahlreichen Förderpreisen, Nominierungen und Auszeichnungen bedacht und ist in allen wichtigen Anthologien zur Gegenwartslyrik vertreten.
Nachrufe auf die Natur – so könnte man einen Großteil der neuen Dichtungen Kampmanns nennen. Die Autorin richtet ihren Blick auf die Spuren, die der Mensch überall auf dem Planeten hinterlassen hat, auf die spektakulären und die schleichenden Verheerungen des Anthropozäns. Sie schreibt  über geklonte Tiere und chinesische Gen-Experimente, über Müll und Asphalt, Industrieparks und Erosionsflächen, über Chemieschlote an der Donau und den Fledermaustod an Windkraftrotoren, über den Schwund des Permafrosts, die Vertreibung von Maulwürfen und ahnungslos schlafende Hunde an Tankstellen. Sie schreibt auch über Orte ihrer Kindheit und Jugend in einem nebelverhangenen Norddeutschland, und sie findet dort, neben persönlichen Erinnerungen, die nichts Idyllisches haben, Reminiszenzen an deutsche Kriegsverbrechen.
Immer aber bleibt die Dichterin in der Anschauung und in der Schilderung, nie wird sie analytisch, moralisch oder polemisch. Distanziert, doch nicht unbeteiligt ist dieser Blick, geprägt von kühler Melancholie,  und er gewinnt der apokalyptischen Bestandsaufnahme eine eigentümliche Schönheit ab, eine herbe, ruhige Ästhetik, die den Schrecken nicht mildert, aber einen Zugang dazu eröffnet. Dies könnte eine Art politischer Lyrik sein, die unserer Zeit gemäß ist: Sie agitiert nicht, sondern zeigt, und ihr verhaltener, wie beiläufiger Klagegestus lässt das Ausmaß der Verwüstung stärker unter die Haut gehen, als lautes  Anprangern es jetzt noch könnte.
Für die Übersetzung prädestiniert erscheinen diese Gedichte, weil sie ohne Reim, Metrum und andere formale Effekte auskommen, vielmehr ganz auf die Kraft der Bilder und den Assoziationsraum der Wörter setzen. Damit nähern sie sich einer rhythmisierten Prosa mit teilweise gebrochener Syntax und organisch wirkendem Zeilenfall, bei konsequenter Kleinschreibung und weitgehendem Verzicht auf Interpunktion.  Ihr Gehalt und ihre Atmosphäre dürften sich ohne Verlust in jeglichen Sprachklang übertragen lassen.
 
Buchcover der hund ist immer hungrig

Von Kristina Maidt-Zinke

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke ist Literatur- und Musikkritikerin der Süddeutschen Zeitung und rezensiert für Die Zeit.