Bookworld
Why Start to Write for Children?

Juli Zeh Bücher © Juli Zeh

Juli Zeh, Saša Stanišić and three other authors discuss why they decided to start writing children’s fiction, and how it differs from writing for adults.

It seems that writers of literary fiction are increasingly turning their hand to children’s literature. But what makes them do this? Does it go back to their own childhoods, or is it a question of their focus changing as they themselves become parents? What other reasons might there be for writing for both adult and child readers – something which several of these authors have in fact been attempting to do for many years in their day-to-day writing lives?

Juli Zeh lives near Berlin. Along with being a best-selling author and winner of numerous literary prizes, she holds a doctorate in European and international law and is an honorary magistrate for the constitutional court of Brandenburg. Her debut novel, Adler und Engel (Eagles and Angels), was published 20 years ago, and her books have been translated into more than 35 languages. Her children’s books have also been instant hits. Socke und Sophie – Pferdesprache leicht gemacht (Sophie and Socks - How to Speak the Language of Ponies) arose from her own passion for horses, and is a winning combination of non-fiction and pony story which has also found critical acclaim. Jetzt bestimme ich! (My Turn to Choose!) draws on her own social engagement, and Alle Jahre wieder (It Happens Every Year) offers an unconventional take on the perennial theme of Christmas. Zeh herself explains how she manages to write for two very different target readerships: “I started writing as a child, so my literary roots go back to children’s literature to a certain extent. I can’t help but return to it. If I have an idea which I think might be suitable for a children’s book, then I set about trying to write it.” 

For Markus Orths, it was having children of his own – now aged 14, 12 and 8 – that gave him the idea of writing for children as well as for adults. “There’s no doubt that my decision was made for me when I had children,” says Orths, who lives in Karlsruhe and whose novels have been translated into just shy of 20 languages. “I started making up bedtime stories for them, and the ideas for my first children’s books all came from there.” Das Zebra unterm Bett (The Zebra under the Bed), for instance, started out as an improvised bedtime story; whereas real events were behind Der reichste Junge der Welt (The Richest Boy in the World) and Ein Elefant macht Handstand (Elephant Does Handstands). All three stories are superbly illustrated by Kerstin Meyer, and are perfect for primary school children. “I can be even more crazy and anarchic and imaginative and adventurous when I write for children – but I sometimes have to explain or repeat things, which I wouldn’t do in adult fiction,” Orths explains when asked what the difference is between writing for the two audiences. Young readers can look forward to the next two volumes of Billy Backe (Mickey Marmot) appearing in 2022 and 2023.
 
Markus Orths Bücher
© Markus Orths
Frankfurt author Katharina Hacker’s reason for writing for children and young adults is slightly different: she was dissatisfied with what was already on offer and unimpressed by the pony books which she read with her daughters. Hacker, who won the 2006 German Book Prize for her novel Die Habenichtse (The Have-Nots), fulfilled a childhood dream six years ago when she bought a pony of her own - whereupon, as she says, “writing a children’s book involving animals seemed the obvious thing to do.” The resulting sensitive and multifaceted novel, Alles, was passieren wird (Anything can Happen), deals with a fear which Hacker – herself the mother of two daughters – can understand, told as it is from the perspective of a girl whose mother has died. For Hacker, the new discovery was “writing a story with a clear, compelling plot. This doesn’t always play such a role in my other books, so it was a challenge and a huge pleasure for me,” she says. She has recently completed another novel for adults, and is now planning her second teenage novel. “There are other characters in the first book whose stories are still waiting to be told.”

Annette Pehnt’s delightful children’s stories all feature animals as their central characters – the most recent protagonist being a raccoon. Hieronymus oder Wie man wild wird (Hieronymus, or How to go Wild) is a funny and charming story about Hieronymus the racoon and Luki – the boy who bumps into him at a quarter past four one afternoon. “The central thing for me is always the way in which children join forces to help and support one another. There are far too many lone wolves in the world - including grown-up ones!” says Pehnt, the mother of three daughters, who was born in Cologne and has lived for many years in Freiburg. For her, writing for children isn’t so very different from writing for adults. “My children are older now, but they’re still the first people to read what I’ve written,” she says. “I think it’s very important to use clear and engaging language, to observe the characters closely, and to tell their stories carefully and with warmth.” However, she also draws our attention to one big difference between adult fiction and stories aimed at children. “Adults can cope with open-ended or ambiguous writing. But children have a need for closure and reassurance, and that’s what I want to give them.” This is precisely what she does - including in those stories which feature contributions by illustrator Jutta Bauer.
 
Hacker Pehnt Stanisic
© Hacker Pehnt Stanisic
Like Pehnt, Saša Stanišić, winner of the 2014 Leipzig Book Fair Prize (for Vor dem Fest [Before the Feast]) and the 2019 German Book Prize (for Herkunft [Origin]) enjoys working with different illustrators. His first children’s book (Hey, Hey, Taxi!) was illustrated by Katja Spitzer, and he has more recently been working with Günther Jakobs on his second (Panda-Pand). Jakobs has found the process to be quite fascinating. “The thing I have discovered is that my style is always my style, even when the illustrations are aimed at children. I love the way in which my artistic footprint remains the same.” Panda-Pand – Wie die Pandas mal Musik zum Frühstück hatten (Panda-Pand - The Day the Pandas had Music for Breakfast) offers a delightful and unusual combination of read-aloud story, musical inspiration and panda bears. It all began with the children’s stories which Saša Stanišić told his son – “and it was a fantastic moment when he got excited and said ‘put it in a book!’ This had more or less never happened in such a satisfying and harmonious way with any of my other work. All the usual self-doubt, endless research, dead ends – there was none of any of that stuff!” And as Stanišić has by his own admission hundreds more stories for children in his head, we will have plenty to look forward to!


Antje Ehmann is a freelance journalist, jury member and advisor who specialises in fiction for children and young adults.

Translated by John Reddick

Bücherwelt
Auf einmal auch für Kinder schreiben?

Juli Zeh Bücher © Carlsen, © dtv

Juli Zeh, Saša Stanišić und drei andere Autor*innen erzählen über ihre Beweggründe und ihre Erfahrungen rund um das Schreiben für Kinder

Immer wieder begegnet man Belletristikautor*innen, die aus den unterschiedlichsten Gründen Kinder als neues oder zusätzliches Publikum entdecken. Wie kommt es dazu? Führen die Spuren in deren Kindheit, verschieben eigene Kinder den Fokus oder was begründet die oftmals auch über längere Zeit praktizierte Zweigleisigkeit im literarischen Alltag?

Juli Zeh lebt in der Nähe von Berlin und ist bekannt als mehrfach ausgezeichnete Bestsellerautorin, promovierte Juristin und ehrenamtliche Richterin am Verfassungsgericht des Landes Brandenburg. Ihr Debüt legte sie vor 20 Jahren mit dem Roman „Adler und Engel“ vor und ihre Bücher wurden in mehr als 35 Sprachen übersetzt. Auch im Kinderbuchbereich ist sie bereits mit mehreren Werken aufgefallen. Aus ihrer persönlichen Leidenschaft für Pferde ist „Socke und Sophie – Pferdesprache leicht gemacht“ entstanden, eine erfolgreiche Kombination aus Sachbuch und Pferdegeschichte, die auch von der Kritik positiv aufgenommen wurde. Stärker um ihr gesellschaftliches Engagement geht es in „Jetzt bestimme ich!“ und um eine unkonventionelle Sichtweise zum Thema Weihnachten in „Alle Jahre wieder“. „Da ich schon als Kind mit dem Schreiben begonnen habe, liegen meine Ursprünge gewissermaßen in der Kinderliteratur. Ich komme immer wieder darauf zurück. Wenn ich eine Idee habe, die sich für ein Kinderbuch eignet, setze ich sie um",  so Zeh zu ihrer Motivation, für so ganz unterschiedliche Zielgruppen zu schreiben.

Der eigene Nachwuchs hat Markus Orths auf die Idee gebracht, nicht nur für Erwachsene, sondern auch für Kinder zu schreiben. „Diese Entscheidung kam ganz klar durch die eigenen Kinder. Sie sind jetzt 14, 12 und 8 Jahre alt. Ich habe abends begonnen, Stegreifgeschichten zu erzählen und daraus entstanden die ersten Ideen für die Kinderbücher", so Orths, der in Karlsruhe lebt und dessen Romane in fast 20 Sprachen übersetzt worden sind. „Das Zebra unterm Bett“ ist aus einer solchen improvisierten Abendgeschichte entstanden. Bei „Der reichste Junge der Welt“ und „Ein Elefant macht Handstand“ liegen reale Erlebnisse zu Grunde. Alle drei Kinderbücher sind grandios von Kerstin Meyer illustriert und bieten Grundschüler*innen allerfeinste Kinderliteratur. „Ich kann noch verrückter, anarchischer, fantastischer und abenteuerlicher schreiben. Aber ich muss auch hin und wieder Dinge erklären und wiederholen, was ich in einem Buch für Erwachsene nicht machen würde", so Orths zu den Unterschieden im literarischen Arbeiten für die verschiedenen Altersklassen. 2022 und 2023 dürfen sich die jungen Leser*innen dann auf zwei neue Bände von „Billy Backe“ freuen!
 
Markus Orths Bücher
© Moritz Verlag
Katharina Hackers Motivation, für Kinder bzw. Jugendliche zu schreiben, entstand eher aus der Unzufriedenheit mit bereits vorhandenen Texten für diese Zielgruppe. Die Pferdekinderbücher, in die sie bei ihren Töchtern reinschaute, waren ihr oftmals zu dürftig. Außerdem hat sich Katharina Hacker vor sechs Jahren einen Kindheitstraum erfüllt und sich ein eigenes Pferd gekauft. „Da war es dann naheliegend, selber ein Jugendbuch mit Tieren zu schreiben", so die für ihren Roman „Die Habenichtse“ 2006 mit dem Deutschen Buchpreis ausgezeichnete Frankfurter Autorin. Interessant ist, dass sie in ihrem Jugendroman „Alles, was passieren wird“ auch eine Angst verarbeitet, die sie selbst gut kennt. Denn es geht darin feinfühlig und facettenreich um ein Mädchen, dessen Mutter gestorben ist. Hacker, die selbst zwei Töchter hat, kann sich in eine solche Situation natürlich gut hineinversetzen. Neu war beim Schreiben für sie: „Eine Geschichte mit einer klaren, spannenden Handlung zu erzählen. Diese spielt in anderen Büchern manchmal keine so große Rolle, deswegen war es eine Herausforderung und ein riesiges Vergnügen zugleich“, so die Autorin. Gerade hat sie ein Buch für Erwachsene abgeschlossen und plant nun, ein weiteres Jugendbuch zu schreiben. „Es gibt einige Figuren in dem Buch, zu denen ich noch Geschichten weiß.“

Vor allem zu Tierfiguren fallen Annette Pehnt immer wieder die tollsten Kindergeschichten ein. Die Hauptfigur ihres neuesten Kinderbuchs ist ein Waschbär. „Hieronymus oder Wie man wild wird“ erzählt kurzweilig und sehr liebenswert von diesem Tier und vor allem von Luki – dem Jungen, der ihm eines Nachmittags um viertel nach vier begegnet. „Bei mir geht es immer auch darum, wie sich Kinder unterstützen und Bündnisse eingehen können. Einzelkämpfer gibt es viel zu viele! Das gilt ja genauso für die Großen", so die in Köln geborene und nun schon lange in Freiburg lebende Autorin und Mutter von drei Töchtern. Für sie macht das Schreiben für Kinder keinen großen Unterschied. „Meine Kinder sind inzwischen groß, aber noch immer bekommen sie als allererste die Texte zu sehen“, erzählt sie. „Es ist mir immer wichtig, eine klare und schöne Sprache zu finden, die Figuren genau anzuschauen, sorgfältig und liebevoll zu erzählen. Einen Unterschied gibt es aber: Erwachsenen kann ich zerrissene Texte zumuten. Kinder haben ein Bedürfnis nach Geschlossenheit und Zuversicht, das ich nähren will“, so Pehnt. Das gelingt ihr zweifellos – auch in den Geschichten, zu denen Jutta Bauer die Illustrationen beisteuert.
 
Hacker Pehnt Stanisic
© S. Fischer, © Sauerländer, © Carl Hanser, © Carlsen
Auch Saša Stanišić arbeitet mit unterschiedlichen Illustrator*innen zusammen. Nach Katja Spitzer illustriert Günther Jakobs nun das zweite Kinderbuch des mehrfach ausgezeichneten Autors („Vor dem Fest“, Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse 2014; „Herkunft“, Deutscher Buchpreis 2019). „Vor allem hat mich fasziniert, dass man seinen Stil tatsächlich auch bei diesem Text für Kinder gut wiedererkennt. Er verbiegt sich nicht, das finde ich großartig!“, urteilt der Illustrator. Geboten bekommt man in „Panda-Pand – Wie die Pandas mal Musik zum Frühstück hatten“ eine reizvolle Mischung aus überraschender Vorlesegeschichte, musikalischer Inspiration und der Begegnung mit den Pandabären. Angefangen hat alles mit den Kindergeschichten, die Saša Stanišić seinem Sohn erzählte und „wenn der dann rief 'Das kommt ins Buch!', dann war das etwas so Fantastisches. Das gab es in dieser erfüllenden und harmonischen Weise bei meinen anderen Arbeiten so gut wie nie. Selbstzweifel, Recherchekämpfe, Sackgassen – das war alles nicht da“. Und da Stanišić – wie er selbst sagt – noch hunderte weitere Geschichten für Kinder im Sinn hat, darf man gespannt sein!


Antje Ehmann arbeitet als freie Journalistin, Jurorin und Referentin im Bereich Kinder- und Jugendliteratur.