Category: Fiction

Michael Kumpfmüller
Die Herrlichkeit des Lebens
[The glory of life]

Novel

Review

The spa town Müritz, located on the coast of Mecklenburg, is surrounded by forests, marshes and the Baltic Sea. The beach is ten minutes by foot from the vacation home "Glückauf" (Good luck). The doctor is supposed to spend a few weeks there with his sisters to recuperate. It is a Friday night in July 1923. For nearly six years he has been suffering from tuberculosis; the healthy climate is supposed to offer him a bit of relief. Eleven months later he will be dead.

The conclusion of Michael Kumpfmüller’s novel is hardly a secret. Although Kafka's name never appears in the text, the reader soon realizes he is the protagonist of this love story. The author delicately handles the final year of the Prague-based writer’s life, and manages to capture the magic of love between him and Dora Diamant without ever slipping into kitsch.

It is a completely successful balancing act: Kumpfmüller meticulously records the stations of Kafka’s final months. At the same time, he creates a universal story about the power of love and the difficulty we all face in saying good-bye, no matter how predictable the end might be. While the story focuses on the real relationship between Franz and Dora, it is not the thrust of the novel’s emotional impact. Presumably this is one of the reasons Kumpfmüller has omitted the famous surname.

Kafka is forty years old when he first meets the kindergarten teacher Dora in Müritz. It seems to be love at first sight. The Jewish woman from Eastern Europe is twenty-five; born in the Russian Empire, for the last few years she has been living in a courtyard apartment in Berlin not far from Alexanderplatz. The writer experiences a rebirth through his love for Dora, they take walks on the beach and go swimming in the unusually warm Baltic Sea. Franz and Dora relish their newfound closeness: "You are my salvation,” Kafka tells her.

The despondent man has been granted a new life. He breaks away from his parents in Prague and searches for a new home in Berlin. Hyperinflation makes life difficult for the residents of the city and Kafka’s health is a source of constant worry. But Kumpfmüller touchingly shows us how all worries and concerns begin to shrink in the face of love. Kafka certainly is aware that his relationship cannot last. He has always known he would not live to an old age. But that does not prevent him from throwing himself head over heels in love.

Since the correspondence between Dora Diamant and Franz Kafka has not been saved, Kumpfmüller must find a way to imagine and feel into their relationship. He more than succeeds. In September they move into an apartment in Berlin-Steglitz. Dora takes care of her lover, who in contemplative moments ponders his legacy and despairs at the sobering inventory: three "botched" novels, a few dozen short stories, and some letters, mostly to women living elsewhere.

Kumpfmüller brings to life Berlin in the Weimar Republic. The Roaring Twenties have not yet begun; famine and unemployment plague the third largest city in the world. The couple is aware of anti-Semitic remarks and of Hitler’s putsch in Munich. But they are living secluded from everything; Kafka rarely leaves his bed, and Dora takes care of him and everything they need. He tries to write and starts the short story “The Burrow” which he never completes. Kumpfmüller’s ability to cast this love story in fiction is truly impressive.

The couple is forced to move twice and they fantasize about alternatives to life in Germany: Maybe open a restaurant in Palestine? The harsh winter in Berlin is not good for Kafka’s health; hour-long coughing spells are hardly uncommon. The reader viscerally feels how difficult it is for them to leave their newly acquired nest. They both know it will probably be forever, even if neither of them dares to mention it. Kafka asks Dora to burn his notebooks, letters and papers – he considers them "worthless stuff". In March 1924 he completes his final story, "Josephine the Singer, or the Mouse Folk."

Kumpfmüller poignantly describes Kafka’s worsening health. The disease has spread to the larynx. He is forced to move into a sanatorium north of Vienna. He is unable to eat and suffers from severe pain and relentless thirst. He barely weighs a hundred pounds. He is not allowed to speak. The doctors have given up on him; Dora never gives up. She devotedly nurses him together with Kafka's friend Robert Klopstock.

Kumpfmüller depicts the writer’s final days with enormous respect and without melodrama. Although, or maybe because, we know from the start how this story ends, Kumpfmüller’s fictionalized account moves us all the more. Completely emaciated, Kafka proposes to Dora, he is concerned about her future. He tells her he would have liked to have children with her. He dies in her arms on June 3, 1924. Before he dies the couple assures each other they had spent a happy life together, even if it lasted only briefly. They reminisce about Berlin, about their summer at the Baltic Sea. They would not have changed anything. 
 
Vorname Name

By Daniel Grinsted, 18.08.2012

​Daniel Grinsted is a cultural critic with a degree in Anglo-American literature. He works as a freelance arts journalist for the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Zeit Online, Literaturen, Börsenblatt and other media. 

Translated by Zaia Alexander

Sparte: Belletristik

Michael Kumpfmüller
Die Herrlichkeit des Lebens

Roman

Buchbesprechung

​Umschlossen von Wald, Moor und Ostsee liegt das Seeheilbad Müritz an der mecklenburgischen Küste. Von der Ferienwohnung „Glückauf“ sind es nur zehn Fußminuten bis zum Strand. Hier soll der Doktor zusammen mit seinen Schwestern erholsame Wochen verbringen. Es ist ein Freitagabend im Juli 1923. Seit fast sechs Jahren leidet er an Tuberkulose, das Heilklima soll ihm Linderung verschaffen. Elf Monate später wird er tot sein.

Das Ende von Michael Kumpfmüllers Roman ist kein Geheimnis. Auch wenn der Name 'Kafka' kein einziges Mal fällt, wird dem Leser schnell klar, um wen es in dieser Liebesgeschichte geht. Zärtlich behandelt der Autor das letzte Lebensjahr des Prager Schriftstellers, fängt den Zauber der Liebe zwischen ihm und Dora Diamant ein, ohne je in Richtung Kitsch abzudriften.
Es ist eine vollauf gelungene Gratwanderung: Mit akribischer Genauigkeit zeichnet Kumpfmüller die Stationen der letzten Monate Kafkas nach. Gleichzeitig entfaltet er eine universale Geschichte über die Kraft der Liebe und darüber, wie schwer jeder Abschied fällt, auch wenn er noch so vorhersehbar ist. Es geht um die reale Beziehung von Franz und Dora, doch das spielt für die emotionale Wucht des Romans keine Rolle. Vermutlich ist das auch einer der Gründe dafür, dass Kumpfmüller den berühmten Nachnamen unerwähnt lässt.

Vierzig Jahre ist Kafka alt, als er der Kindergärtnerin Dora in Müritz begegnet. Es scheint Liebe auf den ersten Blick zu sein. Die osteuropäische Jüdin ist fünfundzwanzig, wurde im Russischen Kaiserreich geboren und lebt seit wenigen Jahren in einem Berliner Hinterhof, unweit vom Alexanderplatz. Verliebt blüht der Schriftsteller auf, sie machen Strandspaziergänge, gehen in der ungewöhnlich warmen Ostsee schwimmen. Schnell merken Franz und Dora, wie sehr sie die Nähe des anderen genießen. „Du bist meine Rettung“, sagt Kafka zu ihr.

Für den verzagten Mann beginnt ein neues Leben. Er bricht mit den Eltern in Prag, geht in Berlin auf Wohnungssuche. Die Hyperinflation macht den Bewohnern der Stadt zu schaffen, auch sein Gesundheitszustand lässt Kafka zweifeln. Aber Kumpfmüller zeigt hier auf bewegende Weise, wie sehr alle Sorgen und Bedenken zu schrumpfen beginnen, wenn man verliebt ist. Denn Kafka ist sich gewiss bewusst, dass diese Beziehung nicht von Dauer sein kann. Dass er nicht alt wird, weiß er schließlich, seit er denken kann. Aber das hindert ihn nicht, sich Hals über Kopf in diese Liebe zu stürzen.

Da der Briefwechsel zwischen Dora Diamant und Franz Kafka nicht erhalten ist, muss sich Kumpfmüller in ihre Beziehung hineindenken und -fühlen. Das gelingt ihm vorzüglich. Im September beziehen sie eine Wohnung in Berlin-Steglitz. Dora kümmert sich um ihren Geliebten, der in stillen Momenten über sein Vermächtnis sinniert: Drei „verpfuschte“ Romane, ein paar Dutzend Geschichten und sonst nur Briefe, hauptsächlich an entfernt lebende Frauen, lautet sein ernüchterndes Resümee.

Nebenbei lässt Kumpfmüller das Berlin der Weimarer Republik auferstehen. Die Goldenen Zwanziger haben noch nicht begonnen, in der drittgrößten Stadt der Welt herrschen Hungersnot und Arbeitslosigkeit. Das Paar bekommt antisemitische Äußerungen mit, in München kommt es zum Hitlerputsch. Sie leben hingegen wie unter einer Glocke, Kafka verlässt kaum das Bett, und Dora übernimmt seine Pflege und den ganzen Rest. Er versucht zu schreiben, beginnt die Erzählung Der Bau, die er nicht mehr vollenden wird. Wie Kumpfmüller diese Liebesgeschichte in Fiktion zu gießen vermag, ist wirklich beeindruckend.

Das Paar muss zweimal die Wohnung wechseln, sie spielen Alternativen im Kopf durch: Vielleicht sollten sie ein Restaurant in Palästina eröffnen? Der Berliner Winter tut Kafka nicht gut, und stundenlange Hustenanfälle sind keine Seltenheit. Zu verfolgen, wie schwer sich die beiden damit tun, ihr erst kürzlich bezogenes Nest aufzugeben, geht dem Leser nahe. Beide wissen, dass es wohl für immer sein wird, auch wenn es keiner auszusprechen wagt. Kafka bittet Dora, seine Hefte, Briefe und Blätter im Ofen zu verbrennen – für ihn nur „wertloses Zeug“. Im März 1924 schließt er seine letzte Erzählung ab: „Josefine, die Sängerin oder Das Volk der Mäuse“.

Kumpfmüller schildert auf ergreifende Weise, wie es mit Kafka bergab geht: Die Krankheit hat auf den Kehlkopf übergegriffen. Er muss in eine Lungenheilstätte nördlich von Wien. Kann nicht mehr essen, leidet Schmerzen und an starkem Durst, wiegt nicht mal mehr fünfzig Kilo. Sprechen ist ihm verboten. Die Ärzte haben ihn schon aufgegeben, nur Dora nicht. Zusammen mit Kafkas Freund Robert Klopstock pflegt sie ihn aufopferungsvoll.
Mit großem Respekt und ohne Melodramatik beschreibt Kumpfmüller die letzten Tage im Leben des Schriftstellers. Obwohl oder gerade weil man von Anfang an weiß, wie diese Geschichte endet, rührt sie einen in Kumpfmüllers fiktionalisierter Form umso mehr. Völlig ausgezehrt macht Kafka Dora einen Heiratsantrag, sorgt sich, was aus ihr werden soll. Sagt ihr, dass er gerne Kinder mit ihr gehabt hätte. Am 3. Juni 1924 stirbt er in ihren Armen. Zuvor hat sich das Paar versichert, dass sie das ganze Glück hatten, wenn auch nur kurz. Sie erinnern sich an Berlin, den Sommer an der Ostsee. Sie würden nichts anders machen.
Vorname Name

Von Daniel Grinsted, 18.08.2012

​Daniel Grinsted ist Kulturwissenschaftler und Anglist/Amerikanist. Er arbeitet als freier Kulturjournalist für die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Zeit Online, Literaturen, das Börsenblatt und andere Medien.