Category: Non-fiction

Alois Prinz
Ein lebendiges Feuer. Die Lebensgeschichte der Milena Jesenská
[A Living Fire: The Life Story of Milena Jesenská]

Biography

So much courage

"She’s a living fire like I’ve never seen before," wrote Franz Kafka in May 1920 about Milena Jesenská, who was living in Vienna at the time. They had met a year before in Prague. The young bon vivant and "artist of life" had translated Kafka into Czech and a lively correspondence followed, ending in a romance. Milena Jesenská eked out a living in Vienna as a journalist – a hard way to pay the bills, to be sure, but a profession that nonetheless allowed her to have her own income and earn her keep. She had struggled to achieve this, with tenacity and enthusiasm. It was not without reason that Kafka praised her courage, her intelligence and "life-giving power."

The romance did not last long, however, because unlike the highly vulnerable writer, who viewed his letters and literature as a refuge, Milena made concrete demands. Two hours of life were worth more to her than two written pages, she answered to him, as Alois Prinz relates in his biography. Milena Jesenská’s post-mortem fame was initially thanks to Kafka scholarship. Kafka’s "Letters to Milena" turned the nonconformist into a literary icon. Even after the end of their romance, Milena and "Frank" – as she like to call him, on account of his almost illegible signature – remained in touch. The writer entrusted his diaries to her, and after his death in June 1924 she wrote a touching obituary. Hence quite a bit of the material on Milena has been preserved because of her proximity to this literary giant, though this Kafka connection and her attendant fame is also a burden, as biographer Alois Prinz repeatedly points out.

Beyond her affair with this writer thirteen years her elder, Milena, who was born in 1896, led a life that was incredibly intense and rich in personal experience, a life that was paradigmatic of the conflict-ridden twentieth century. She belonged to the artistic and intellectual circles of two great cities, made a name for herself as a journalist, explored changing gender relations, talked politics and fought against European fascism.

The literary scholar and philosopher Alois Prinz, who has written biographies on a range of individuals, from Hermann Hesse and Hannah Arendt to Ulrike Meinhof and Saint Paul, seems to have a particular interest in contrarians (his anthology "Rebellious Sons" appeared in 2010). This time he’s chosen an energetic female rebel with his "Life Story of Milena Jesenská," a biography that should be equally informative for young readers and adults alike.

Precise and empathetic, though restrained enough to not be sentimental, Prinz tells the story of the maladjusted daughter of a well-off family. Milena Jesenská not only rebelled against her father, a professor of dentistry; she challenged the conventions of a world in decline, played sports, went hiking, was self-confident and alert, married a Jewish intellectual (much to the ire of her father, a nationalist Czech) and for a while, in her younger years, even became a communist. Just for a while, though, for she soon tired of following the rigid codes of conduct and publication restrictions of her Soviet-oriented comrades.

In a highly accessible and readable way, Prinz’s biography puts Milena Jesenská’s story in the context of her era. The dissolution of Austria-Hungary, the First World War, growing Czech nationalism in Prague, the founding of the republic, the destructive force of Nazism, beyond the border then closer to home – everything that sounds like prosaic history is vividly told in Prinz’s book, against the backdrop of this thrilling life story.

This is particularly true for the final years of this engaged journalist. In 1938, just before the fateful Munich Agreement, she traveled for weeks to the (then still Czech) Sudetenland where she observed the Sudeten German Nazis there and wrote startling reports for her newspaper. In November 1939, once the Nazis had occupied the rest of Czechoslovakia, Milena was arrested for her underground activities. She was acquitted in Dresden but placed in protective custody by the Nazis. Soon afterwards she was deported to Ravensbrück concentration camp for women, where she died in 1944.

The letters she wrote from the camp reveal how much she missed her daughter, but also her father and the city of Prague. "In each letter," Prinz explains, "Milena declared how well she was doing and that they had no need to worry about her. This wasn’t true, of course." Yet still she retained her courage and charitable spirit in the camp, as shown by the testimonies of other inmates, who admired her "fearless behavior" until the very end. "She may have lived with careless abandon, but she was always prepared to bear the consequences of her lust for life," writes Alois Prinz in his epilogue. A beautifully told life story that stays with you long after reading.
Jutta Person

By Jutta Person, 21.03.2017

Jutta Person, born 1971 in South Baden, studied German, Italian and Philosophy in Cologne and Italy and earned her doctorate with a dissertation on the History of Physiognomy in the 19th Century. The journalist and cultural scientist is based in Berlin and writes for the Süddeutsche Zeitung, Literaturen, Die Zeit and the Philosophie Magazin. From 2004 – 2007, she was an editor at Literaturen, since October 2011, she has been in charge of the books department at Philosophie Magazin. She was a member of the jury for the German Book Prize in 2012.

(Updated: 2019)

Translated by David Burnett

Sparte: Sachbuch

Alois Prinz
Ein lebendiges Feuer. Die Lebensgeschichte der Milena Jesenská

Biografie

So viel Mut

„Sie ist ein lebendiges Feuer, wie ich es noch nie gesehen habe", schrieb Franz Kafka im Mai 1920 über Milena Jensenská, die zu dieser Zeit in Wien lebte. Ein Jahr zuvor waren sie sich in Prag begegnet: Die junge Lebenskünstlerin hatte Texte Kafkas ins Tschechische übersetzt, es folgte eine rege Korrespondenz mit anschließender Liebesgeschichte. In Wien hielt sich Milena Jesenská als Journalistin über Wasser, mühsam zwar, aber immerhin ermöglichte ihr der Beruf ein eigenes Einkommen, das sie ernährte; ein Lebensumstand, der mit Zähigkeit und Energie erkämpft worden war. Nicht ohne Grund pries Kafka auch ihren Mut, ihre Klugheit und ihre „Leben-gebende Kraft".

Die Liebesbeziehung hielt trotzdem nicht lange, denn anders als der hochverletzliche Schriftsteller, der seine Briefe wie auch seine Literatur immer als Rückzugsorte betrachtete, forderte Milena gerade die Realität ein. Zwei Stunden Leben seien mehr wert als zwei Seiten Schrift, hatte sie ihm geantwortet, wie Alois Prinz in seiner Biografie berichtet. Dass Milena Jesenská nach ihrem Tod berühmt wurde, verdankte sich anfangs wohl der Kafka-Forschung. Kafkas „Briefe an Milena" verwandelten die Nonkonformistin in eine literarische Ikone. Auch nach dem Ende ihrer Liebesgeschichte blieben Milena und „Frank", wie sie ihn wegen seiner schwer leserlichen Unterschrift nannte, noch in Kontakt; der Schriftsteller übergab ihr seine Tagebücher, und nach seinem Tod im Juni 1924 schrieb sie einen feinfühligen Nachruf. Einiges an Material also ist durch Milenas Literaten-Nähe erhalten geblieben – wobei dieser Kafka-bezogene Ruhm auch eine Bürde ist, wie ihr Biograf Alois Prinz immer wieder betont.

Denn auch jenseits der Liebesepisode mit dem dreizehn Jahre älteren Schriftsteller führte die 1896 geborene Milena Jesenská ein unglaublich intensives, erfahrungsgesättigtes Leben, in dem sich die großen Konfliktlinien des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts geradezu beispielhaft abzeichnen. Sie war Teil der Künstler- und Intellektuellenkreise zweier Metropolen, erschrieb sich einen Namen als Journalistin, analysierte das veränderte Geschlechterverhältnis, politisierte sich und kämpfte gegen den Faschismus in Europa.

Der Literaturwissenschaftler und Philosoph Alois Prinz, dessen Biografien ein breites Spektrum von Hermann Hesse und Hannah Arendt bis zu Ulrike Meinhof und Paulus abdecken, scheint ein besonderes Interesse für widerständige Geister zu haben (2010 erschien die Anthologie „Rebellische Söhne"). Jetzt hat er mit seiner „Lebensgeschichte der Milena Jesenská" eine energiegeladene Rebellin porträtiert, wobei diese Biografie für Jugendliche und Erwachsene gleichermaßen aufschlussreich sein dürfte.

Im Ton präzise und einfühlsam, aber doch zurückhaltend genug, um nie gefühlig zu klingen, erzählt Prinz vom unangepassten Lebensweg einer höheren Tochter: Milena Jesenská rebellierte nicht nur gegen den Vater, einen Professor der Zahnmedizin. Sie legte sich mit den Konventionen einer untergehenden Welt an, trieb Sport, wanderte, war selbstbewusst und wach, heiratete einen jüdischen Intellektuellen (was den Vater, einen nationalistischen Tschechen, besonders entsetzte) und wurde als junge Frau zeitweilig Kommunistin. Zeitweilig, denn die rigiden Verhaltens- und Publikationsvorschriften ihrer sowjetisch orientierten Genossen wollte sie bald nicht mehr befolgen.

Zugänglich und lesbar verankert Prinz’ Biografie die Geschichte Milena Jesenskás in ihrer Zeit: Der Zerfall Österreich-Ungarns, der Erste Weltkrieg, der in Prag erstarkende Nationalismus der Tschechen, die Gründung der Republik, der zerstörerische Nationalsozialismus, zunächst noch jenseits der Grenze – alles, was nach trockenem Geschichtsunterricht klingen könnte, wird höchst anschaulich entlang einer mitreißenden Lebensgeschichte erzählt.

Das gilt besonders für die letzten Lebensjahre der engagierten Journalistin: 1938, kurz vor dem Münchner Abkommen, war sie ins (noch tschechische) Sudentenland gereist, hatte wochenlang die nationalsozialistischen Sudetendeutschen beobachtet und aufrüttelnde Reportagen für ihre Zeitung verfasst. Im November 1939, nach der Besetzung der Rest-Tschechoslowakei durch die Nazis, wird Milena wegen Untergrund-Aktivitäten verhaftet. In Dresden spricht man sie zwar frei, aber sie wird von den Nazis unter Schutzhaft gestellt. Und kurz darauf ins Frauenkonzentrationslager Ravensbrück deportiert, wo sie 1944 stirbt.

Die Briefe aus dem KZ beschreiben, wie sehr sie sich nach ihrer Tochter, aber auch nach ihrem Vater und nach Prag sehnt. „In jedem Brief", erklärt Prinz, „beteuerte Milena, dass es ihr gut gehe und dass man sich keine Sorgen zu machen brauche. Das stimmte natürlich nicht." Dass sie sich auch im KZ ihren Lebensmut und ihre Hilfsbereitschaft bewahrt hatte, zeigt die Biografie anhand der Zeugnisse von Mitgefangenen, die ihr bis zuletzt „furchtloses Auftreten" bewunderten. „Sie lebte hingebungsvoll und verschwenderisch, war aber stets bereit, die Folgen ihres Lebenshungers zu tragen", schreibt Alois Prinz in seinem Epilog. Ein glänzend erzähltes Leben, dessen Intensität lange nachwirkt.
Jutta Person

Von Jutta Person, 21.03.2017

Jutta Person ist Literaturkritikerin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin, sie schreibt unter anderem für die "Süddeutsche Zeitung", "Literaturen" und "Die Zeit". Beim "Philosophie Magazin" betreut sie als Redakteurin das Ressort Sachbücher.