Category: Children's Books

Nikolaus Ober
Nina Ober (Illustrator)

Tiger lernt fliegen
[Tiger learns to fly]

Storybook

Achieving the Impossible through Sheer Imagination

The young tiger is bored. As he wanders disgruntled through the heat of the jungle the monkeys are swinging around happily in the tops of the trees, and even the parrots are zooming around in the sky full of pizzazz. Yes, boredom can be a real challenge, a testing time that every child has experienced at some point. But if we can only battle our way through these agonising periods when absolutely nothing happens, then promising opportunities for creative activity will always beckon on the other side. However, we need to actually grasp hold of one of these many opportunities that life offers us. Our young tiger is already on the right track when he starts playing football with the vultures. It’s not long before he comes across the gnu and learns how to sing. His mood improves, he ambles through the jungle, whistling as he goes, and the monkeys invite him to take part in their theatre performance. But it’s only when the tiger starts gazing up at the birds winging their way through the air that his dreams really start to take shape.

The tiger will learn how to fly: that is the promise vouchsafed by the title of Nikolaus and Nina Ober’s picture book, which proves to be an excellent antidote to boredom. It carries its audience on a journey that happens not least within their own heads. For when children are bored they begin to transform the world in their imagination, they begin to bring it to life - provided that they have not been put off their stride by a television set, which would have performed that particular operation for them. Anyway, the tiger wants to learn to fly - and it makes not a scrap of difference that he couldn’t possibly be worse equipped for such a venture. The defiant doggedness with which he pursues his ambition brings him much valuable experience. He learns a lot about the world, and he learns how to gauge his capabilities and their limits.

By no means everything goes according to plan. When he plummets to the ground the first time, we can tell how painful it must be from the faces of the penguins, whose expressions change even as they watch. Text and image mesh with each other when various actions of the characters within the narrative are complemented by sounds signalled through words included as part of the drawings. The book is suitable - indeed especially suitable - for beginner readers, who can readily see how sounds are formed. The clearly structured sentences are easy to follow, and the young reader is motivated to carry on by the fact that every successive phrase adds a new element to the unfolding story.

Nina Ober’s illustrations satisfy the need of children for realistic depictions of events, for they mimic the natural movements of the monkeys, the mice, the cranes, who are thus portrayed with great distinctiveness, just though borrowed from a book on natural history.

The tiger’s dream of flying ultimately comes to fruition thanks to an aeroplane. But this seemingly conventional turn of events does not disrupt the story-line in the slightest, for the tiger now has to face the challenge of learning to fly the plane, under the aegis of the clever spectacled bear. His delight at his success is plain to see, indeed the entire book radiates a sunny atmosphere right from the yellow of the front endpaper. Handy in format, the book offers a mix of fairly standard depictions of the tiger together with much more ambitious and generously sized double-page spreads. Even without knowing the story, younger readers can gain a lot from simply following the antics of the animals in the illustrations - antics that are appealingly reminiscent of human beings.
Thomas Linden

By Thomas Linden, 03.11.2017

​Thomas Linden is a journalist (Kölnische Rundschau, WWW.CHOICES.DE) specializing in the areas of literature, theater and film. He also curates exhibitions on photography and picture book illustration.

Translated by John Reddick

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Nikolaus Ober
Nina Ober (Illustrator)

Tiger lernt fliegen

Bilderbuch

Mit Fantasie das Unmögliche erreichen

Der kleine Tiger langweilt sich. Während er widerwillig durch die Hitze des Dschungels spaziert, turnen die Affen vergnügt in den Kronen der Palmen, und selbst die Papageien zeigen sich tatendurstig am Himmel. Ja, die Langeweile kann eine schwere Prüfung sein, eine Krise, die jedes Kind schon einmal durchlitten hat. Wer die quälenden Momente der Ereignislosigkeit hinter sich lässt, dem winken jedoch die Verheißungen der Kreativität. Dazu muss man sich freilich für eine der vielen Möglichkeiten entscheiden, die uns das Leben offeriert. Der kleine Tiger ist da schon auf dem richtigen Weg, als er beginnt, mit den Geiern Fußball zu spielen. Bald schon trifft er auf das Gnu und lernt den Gesang. Seine Laune hebt sich, er schlendert pfeifend durch den Dschungel, die Affen laden ihn ein, in ihrem Theaterstück mitzuspielen. Aber so richtig ins Träumen gerät der Tiger erst beim Blick in die Lüfte, wo die Vögel ihre Flügel ausbreiten.

„Tiger lernt fliegen" verspricht das Bilderbuch von Nikolaus und Nina Ober, das sich als gute Medizin gegen die Langeweile erweist. Es nimmt uns mit auf eine Reise, die auch im Kopf stattfindet. Denn Kinder, die sich langweilen, beginnen in ihrer Fantasie, die Welt zu verwandeln und in Bewegung zu versetzen. Vorausgesetzt, sie werden von keinem Fernsehgerät abgelenkt, das diese Arbeit für sie erledigt. Der Tiger jedenfalls will fliegen lernen, und daran ändert auch die Tatsache, dass er dafür denkbar schlecht ausgestattet ist, nichts. Der verbissene Trotz, mit dem er sein Ziel verfolgt, bereitet ihm manch wertvolle Erfahrung. Er lernt die Welt kennen und die eigenen Möglichkeiten einzuschätzen.

Manches geht daneben. Wie schmerzhaft etwa sein erster Absturz gewesen sein mag, lesen wir an den Gesichtern der Pinguine ab, denen schon beim Zuschauen ganz anders wird. Text und Bild verschränken sich, wenn aus den Aktionen der Tiere akustische Signale auf kleinen Worttafeln aufsteigen. Ein Buch auch und besonders für Erstleser, die sehen können, wie sich Laute bilden. Den übersichtlich strukturierten Sätzen lässt sich gut folgen, und die Motivation für das Lesen holt man sich dadurch, dass sich mit jedem Satzteil auch ein Stück der Geschichte erobern lässt.

Die Bilder von Nina Ober kommen dem Bedürfnis der Kinder nach realistischen Darstellungen entgegen, denn die Illustrationen folgen den natürlichen Bewegungen der Affen, Mäuse und Kraniche, die so konkret wie aus einem Naturkundebuch porträtiert werden.

Letztlich klappt es mit dem Traum vom Fliegen dank eines Flugzeugs. Die Geschichte erfährt durch diese scheinbar konventionelle Idee aber keinen Bruch, denn der Tiger muss sich unter der Anleitung des klugen Brillenbärs seine Flugstunden selbst erarbeiten. Man sieht ihm dann die Freude über das Gelingen an, wie überhaupt das ganze Buch – beginnend mit seinem gelben Vorsatzpapier – eine durchsonnte Atmosphäre verströmt. Im handlichen Format bietet es eine Mischung aus routinierten Porträts des Tigers und ambitionierten Bildkompositionen, die großzügig über die Doppelseiten verteilt wurden. Jüngere Leser können auch ohne Kenntnis des Textes mit Gewinn den Gesten der Tiere folgen, denen eine sympathische Ähnlichkeit mit den Menschen innewohnt.
Thomas Linden

Von Thomas Linden, 03.11.2017

​Thomas Linden arbeitet als Journalist (Kölnische Rundschau, WWW.CHOICES.DE) in den Bereichen Literatur, Theater und Film und konzipiert als Kurator Ausstellungen zur Fotografie und zur Bilderbuchillustration.