Category: Non-fiction

Thomas Macho
Vorbilder
[Role models]

Non-Fiction

Review

​A commonplace observation in the area of cultural criticism holds that with the advent of modernism there came a pervasive loss of form and an increasing lack of standards and ideals. Once religious and institutionalized values lost their binding force, according to this view, chaos, disorientation and existential confusion were the counterparts to a newly experienced sense of individual freedom. The pace of change and rapidly changing demands overstrained even the most flexible minds.

Thomas Macho, professor of cultural criticism at the Humboldt University in Berlin, stated in the second sentence of his book “Vorbilder” ["Role Models"], that in today’s lifeworld, “forms have lost the little meaning they still possessed.“ A few decades ago, elementary school report cards graded first-graders on their "behavior" and “penmanship." Since then, word processing programs have replaced handwriting skills, and adults who wish to maintain good form - whether calligraphic or in terms of social relations - are seen as suffering from an obsessive-compulsive disorder. And yet, as the clearly paradoxical thesis shows, while modernity may seem chaotic and amorphous, it has been "a triumphal era for forms and role models: in art and reality."

Since antiquity, the Platonic heaven of ideas has been the realm where the ideal triangle is located next to the ideal horse in an ideal place, which today capitalism and globalization have replaced. In the metropolises of western society, people see traces of the new Gods in the form of trademarks and logos. Consumption has become a mass sport and people orient themselves around supermodels and bodybuilders. "Men as well as women dream today in centimeters, and get either extended or enlarged as needed," and cut off whatever does not to correspond to the ideal.

The observation that the advent of mass media engendered an obsession with beauty and the body cult might seem, at first glance, to be rather unspectacular. What is original, however, is the ways in which Macho endows this idea with a distinctive profile: In an associative frenzy, he roams through the history of film, church, philosophy, and everyday life, contrasting the "figurative normative ideal" of the technological era with the "narrative ideal", which, long before the invention of the Internet, television, and print offered stability and orientation.

In one of the seventeen overwhelmingly expansive chapters of the book, he traces the genealogy of the Virgin Mary to Carla Bruni, the former First Lady of France. An important member of this lineage is Joan of Arc. The girl from Lorraine, who led the French army in the Hundred Years War against England, has remained today an uncontested political figure. Jean Marie Le Pen’s right wing Front National claimed the national myth of Joan of Arc for their own, as did the left, who brought the visual topos of the armed virgin together with the image of the revolutionary, bare-breasted Marianne.
The first beauty contest was held in France in 1920. Macho’s observation that Joan of Arc was canonized that same year is by no means an over-interpretation. His flair for cultural history is embedded in the circumstances that led to the boom in beauty pageants during the years after World War I: "Modern weapons had created such an incredible number and variety of injuries and mutilations that nobody needed to see more freak shows," which in the late 19th Century had enjoyed great popularity in town fairs. The generation that lived through World War I literally craved visual rules of conformity and standardized beauty.

Macho is concerned less about the constraints of beauty contests and deformity than with the modern view of role models, which no longer is characterized by its original, temporal dimension. In other words, the forward-looking aspect of the role model has almost completely fallen into oblivion. Even if each era necessarily comes to an end, we still need idols, precursors, or role models.

In the most irritating chapter of this richly and impressively illustrated volume, Macho deals with the macabre role model function of celebrity and fictional suicides. During Goethe's lifetime, there were at least a dozen Werther readers who had committed suicide. They were found wearing a blue tail coat and yellow vest – just as the hero of the epistolary novel had worn, along with the novel opened on the table in front of them. In 2009, when the suicide of soccer player Robert Enke went through the media, there was a dramatic increase in “rail suicides.”

And embedded somewhere between the myth of the artist and everyday tragedy, there lies the story of a young unknown, who at the end of the 19th century had drowned herself in the Seine. The peaceful, mysterious smile of the drowned woman had moved one of the workers at the morgue to such a degree that he created a death mask of her. Rilke referred to her in a poem, calling her ‘the lifeless beauty,’ Louis Aragon, paid homage to the "smile beyond pain" in his novel “Aurélien".

According to the English literary scholar Alfred Alvarez, the Inconnue de la Seine, with her hair parted in the center by the water, was as much a style icon for the "generation of German girls" before World War I as Brigitte Bardot was in the fifties. For macho, this mask embodies the ultimate mimetic desire: Even more than the death instinct, humans are ruled by the "desire for the image."
Marianna Lieder

By Marianna Lieder, 18.04.2013

​Marianna Lieder works as a freelance journalist and literary critic for publications including the Tagesspiegel, the Stuttgarter Zeitung and Literaturen. She has been an editor at Philosophie Magazin since 2011.

Translated by Zaia Alexander

Sparte: Sachbuch

Thomas Macho
Vorbilder

Sachbuch

Buchbesprechung

​Zu den beliebtesten Gemeinplätzen der Kulturkritik gehört die Klage über den flächendeckenden Formverlust seit Anbruch der Moderne, den zunehmenden Mangel an Maßstäben und Idealen. Nachdem religiöse und institutionalisierte Werte an Verbindlichkeit eingebüßt hätten, so der Gedanke, sei mit dem Zugewinn an individueller Freiheit vor allem das Ausmaß an Chaos, Orientierungslosigkeit, existenzieller Verwirrung gewachsen. Das Tempo der Veränderungen und wechselnden Ansprüche überfordere selbst das flexible Bewusstsein.

Auch der an der Berliner Humboldt-Universität lehrende Kulturwissenschaftler Thomas Macho konstatiert im zweiten Satz seines Bandes "Vorbilder", dass in der modernen Lebenswelt "die Formen – ihre ohnehin wenig prominenten – Bedeutungen eingebüßt haben". Noch vor wenigen Jahrzehnten etwa gaben Grundschulzeugnisse Auskunft über das "Betragen", die "Schrift und Form" der ABC-Schützen. Inzwischen ersetzt das Textverarbeitungsprogramm selbst bei den Jüngsten die Handschrift, wer als Erwachsener auf Wahrung der Form – ob nun die kalligraphische oder die des gesellschaftlichen Umgangs – besteht, gerät schnell in den Verdacht, an einer Zwangsneurose zu leiden. Und dennoch, so die paradox zugespitzte These, ist die Moderne, so chaotisch und amorph sie auch scheint, "ein Zeitalter des Triumphs der Formen und der Vorbilder: In Kunst und Wirklichkeit".

Der platonische Ideenhimmel, in dem seit der Antike das ideale Dreieck neben dem idealen Pferd seinen idealen Ort hat, ist inzwischen kapitalismus- und globalisierungstauglich geworden. In den Metropolen der westlichen Gesellschaft haben die Menschen in Gestalt von Marken und Logos die Schatten der neuen Gottheiten vor Augen. Geometrische Figuren umzingeln die Massensportler des Konsums, die sich an Supermodels und Bodybuildern orientieren. "Männer träumen heute ebenso wie Frauen in Zentimetern und bei Bedarf wird verlängert, vergrößert" und weggeschnitten, was dem Ideal nicht zu entsprechen scheint.

Dass Schönheitswahn und Körperkult erst mit dem Siegeszug der Massenmedien aufkamen, scheint als Erkenntnis zunächst wenig spektakulär. Originell ist allerdings durchaus, wie Macho diesem Gedanken Profil verleiht: Im Assoziationsrausch vagabundiert er durch Film-, Kirchen-, Philosophie-, und Alltagsgeschichte, um das "bildhafte normative Ideal" des technisierten Zeitalters mit dem "erzählenden Ideal" zu kontrastieren, das lange vor der Erfindung des Internets, des Fernsehens und des Buchdrucks Halt und Orientierung bot.

So wird in einem der insgesamt siebzehn überwältigend ausufernden Kapitel die Genealogie von der Jungfrau Maria zu Carla Bruni, der Ex-First-Lady Frankreichs, nachgezeichnet. Ein bedeutendes Mittelglied dieser Ahnenreihe ist Johanna von Orleans. Das Mädchen aus Lothringen, das das französische Heer im Hundertjährigen Krieg gegen England führte, ist bis heute umkämpfte politische Figur geblieben. Der rechte Front National Jean Marie Le Pens beansprucht den nationalen Mythos Jeanne d´Arc ebenso wie die Linke, die den visuellen Topos der bewaffneten Jungfrau mit dem Bild der revolutionären, barbusigen Marianne in Verbindung bringt.

1920 fand die erste Misswahl in Frankreich statt. Dass in demselben Jahr auch Jeanne d´Arc heilig gesprochen wurde, ist eine effektvoll eingestreute, aber nicht über Gebühr interpretierte Beobachtung Machos. Sein kulturhistorischer Spürsinn richtet sich hier vielmehr auf die Umstände, die dazu führten, dass Misswahlen in den Jahren nach dem ersten Weltkrieg boomten: "Die modernen Waffen hatten eine so unglaubliche Vielzahl und Variationsbreite an Verletzungen, Verstümmelungen hinterlassen, dass niemand mehr eine Freak-Show brauchte", wie sie sich vor allem Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts auf den Jahrmärkten großer Beliebtheit erfreuten. Die Generation, die den ersten Weltkrieg durchlebt hatte, gierte regelrecht nach visueller Regelkonformität und normierter Schönheit.
Allerdings geht es Macho um mehr als um die Engführung von Misswahl und Missbildung. Für ihn zeichnet sich der moderne Umgang mit Vorbildern nicht zuletzt dadurch aus, dass die ursprünglich zeitliche Dimension, das Zukunftsweisende des Vor-Bildes nahezu vollkommen in Vergessenheit geraten ist. Denn selbst dann, wenn jede Zeit für uns an ihr Ende gelangt, brauchen wir noch Idole, Vorläufer oder Role Models.
In dem irritierendsten Kapitel des reich und eindrucksvoll bebilderten Bandes geht Macho den makabren Vorbildfunktionen prominenter und fiktionaler Selbstmörder nach. So sollen zu Goethes Lebzeiten mindestens ein Dutzend Werther-Leser den Freitod gewählt haben. Man fand sie bekleidet mit blauem Frack und gelber Weste – wie der Held des Briefromans, der aufgeschlagen auf dem Tisch vor ihnen lag. Als 2009 der Selbstmord des Fußballspielers Robert Enke durch die Medien ging, kam es zu einem dramatischen Anstieg an "Schienensuiziden".

Und irgendwo zwischen Künstler-Mythos und Alltagstragik ist die Geschichte der jungen Unbekannten anzusiedeln, die sich Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts in der Seine das Leben nahm. Das friedliche, geheimnisvolle Lächeln der Ertrunkenen hatte den Mitarbeiter des Leichenschauhauses so gerührt, dass er der Toten eine Gipsmaske abnahm. Rilke spielte später in einem Gedicht auf die leblose Schönheit an, Louis Aragon huldigt dem "Lächeln jenseits des Schmerzes" in seinem Roman "Aurélien".

Folgt man dem englischen Literaturwissenschaftler Alfred Alvarez soll die Inconnue de la Seine mit ihrem vom Wasser gestrafften Mittelscheitel für die "Generation deutscher Mädchen" vor dem ersten Weltkrieg ähnlich stilprägend gewesen sein wie Brigitte Bardot in den fünfziger Jahren. Für Macho letztlich verkörpert diese Maske das mimetische Begehren schlechthin: Mehr noch als vom Todestrieb, wird der Mensch vom "Verlangen nach dem Bild" beherrscht. 
Marianna Lieder

Von Marianna Lieder, 18.04.2013

​Marianna Lieder ist seit 2011 Redakteurin beim „Philosophie Magazin“. Als freie Journalistin und Literaturkritikerin arbeitet sie u. a. für den Tagesspiegel, die Stuttgarter Zeitung und Literaturen.