Category: Children's Books

Lorenz Pauli
Kathrin Schärer (Illustrator)

nur wir alle
[Just all of us]

Storybook

Review

​There are animals without number in children’s picture books, but very few with a truly characterful visage. Right now I have a picture book before me, the very cover of which offers just such a visage in the form of a stag’s head. The depiction of the animal would strike us as entirely naturalistic if it weren’t for the stag’s upward gaze, part anxious, part solicitous, in the direction of his mighty antlers. And up there we see three other animals romping around — very much smaller, but no less characterful. So what on earth are they up to?

Before we’ve read even a single page of Lorenz Pauli’s story “Nur wir alle” [Just all of us] or glimpsed even a single one of the Kathrin Schärer illustrations that grace them, we’re already agog to know what strange events are taking place here. One thing is clear: whatever else they may be, the four creatures on the front cover are not rivals, let alone enemies; something very amicable is going on between these markedly different characters, who are joined in the course of the story by a magpie and an enormous bear.

In the long history of picture books, how many animals have gone flitting across their pages in order to fulfil their mission as greater or lesser embodiments of virtue? But precious few of them have stuck in our own memories from childhood days — and it is even more challenging for today’s generation of very young bookworms.
In this instance, too, it is very much a case of moral messages. It’s all about taking delight in your own activities, about displaying openness and curiosity in the face of strangers who differ from you in appearance, behaviour and ideas. It’s about that sometimes tricky process of establishing relationships, about putting prejudices aside, about negotiating ground rules for associating and playing with one another.

Such themes are of course no more new to picture books than is the deployment of whole legions of all imaginable species of animals as moral messengers. What is very striking, however, is the way that the writer and illustrator choose to present their story. Lorenz Pauli’s use of brief, trenchant, witty exchanges and statements, his insertion of mini commentaries that serve to heighten the tension — these things are readily understood by children, and can make a lasting impression on them. Kathrin Schärer, for her part, complements Pauli’s verbal artistry perfectly with her mixed-media illustrations: close-ups of the animals (with characterful heads and sundry incidents depicted in sharp detail); facial expressions and body postures that are exactly right; constant focus on the essence of the action; no background, or the merest hint of one, to avoid distracting attention from the main story-line; on top of all that, dramatic depictions of fear and pleasure alike. And what a splendid tableau at the end, full of vitality, wit and hope!

It makes no difference whether children read this story for themselves or have it read to them: ‘Just all of us’ could easily lodge itself in the minds of today’s children just as various animal tales lodged themselves in the minds of us adults when we were young. 
Siggi Seuß

By Siggi Seuß, 22.09.2013

​Siggi Seuß, freelance journalist, radio script writer and translator, has been writing reviews of books for children and young people for many years.

Translated by John Reddick

Sparte: Kinder- und Jugendbuch

Lorenz Pauli
Kathrin Schärer (Illustrator)

nur wir alle

Bilderbuch

Buchbesprechung

​ Tiere gibt es wie Sand am Meer in Bilderbüchern, aber richtige Charakterköpfe schon viele, viele Sandkörner weniger. Jetzt liegt ein Bilderbuch vor mir, das bereits auf dem Cover so einen Charakterkopf ins Bild rückt: den Kopf eines Hirsches. Das Tier sieht eigentlich ganz naturalistisch gezeichnet aus, wenn nicht dieser besorgte und fürsorgliche Blick nach oben wäre, Richtung mächtiges Geweih. Und dort oben turnen drei andere, nicht minder ausdrucksstarke, aber wesentlich kleinere Charaktergestalten herum. Was treiben die denn da? Sieht so aus, als würde ein Erdmännchen einen Plastikeimer mit einem Fisch drin ans Geweih hängen wie an einen Garderobenständer. Ein Mäuschen hilft dem Erdmännchen dabei, den Eimer zu stützen, damit das Wasser nicht überschwappt.

Noch keine Seite von Lorenz Paulis Geschichte „Nur wir alle“ gelesen, noch keins von Kathrin Schärers Bildern im Inneren des Buches angeschaut – und trotzdem möchte man schon wissen, was da Seltsames geschieht. Eins ist sicher: Konkurrenten oder gar Feinde sind die vier Geschöpfe auf dem Titelbild nicht. Zwischen diesen höchst unterschiedlichen Wesen, zu denen sich in der Geschichte noch eine Elster und ein riesengroßer Bär gesellen, passiert etwas sehr Freundliches.
Wie viele Tiere wohl im Lauf der Geschichte des Bilderbuchs schon über die Seiten gehuscht sind, um ihre mehr oder minder tugendhaften Stellvertreter-Missionen zu erfüllen? Aber nur wenige davon blieben uns seit Kindertagen in Erinnerung. Und die heutige Generation ganz junger Bücherfreunde hat es noch schwerer.

Tatsächlich geht es auch in diesem Fall um moralische Botschaften. Es geht um die Freude am eigenen Tun, es geht um die Offenheit, die Neugierde, mit der man Fremden begegnen könnte, mit anderem Aussehen, mit anderen Gewohnheiten und mit anderen Ideen. Es geht um den manchmal gar nicht so einfachen Prozess der Annäherung, um das Ablegen von Vorurteilen und das Finden gemeinsamer Regeln des Zusammenseins und Miteinanderspielens.

Diese Anliegen sind zwar ebenso wenig neue Bilderbuchthemen wie der Auftritt von Legionen sämtlicher zoologischer Gattungen als moralische Botschafter. Wie die beiden Künstler die Geschichte sprachlich und bildlich arrangieren, das allerdings ist bemerkenswert. Wie Lorenz Pauli kurze, treffende, witzige Dialoge und Statements auf die Seiten setzt, wie er kleine Kommentare einfügt, die die Spannung erhöhen – das verstehen Kinder und das setzt sich in ihnen fest. Kathrin Schärer führt Paulis Sprachkunst mit ihrer Mischtechnik-Illustration kongenial fort: Nahaufnahmen der Tiere (fokussierte Charakterköpfe und Handlungsdetails). Treffende Gesichtsausdrücke und Körperhaltungen. Konzentration auf das wesentliche Geschehen. Keiner oder nur ganz schwach angedeuteter, nahezu nebulöser Hintergrund, der nicht von der Kerngeschichte ablenkt. Und dazu dramatische Bildkompositionen bei der Darstellung von Angst und Schrecken und Freude. Was für eine lebendige, witzige und hoffnungsfrohe Schlussszene!

Egal, ob die Kinder die Geschichte selber lesen oder sie ihnen vorgelesen wird: „Nur wir alle“ könnte sich im Gemüt von Kindern heute so einnisten, wie uns Erwachsenen manche Tiergeschichte von vorvorgestern unvergessen bleibt. 
Siggi Seuß

Von Siggi Seuß, 22.09.2013

​Siggi Seuß, freier Journalist, Hörfunkautor und Übersetzer, schreibt seit vielen Jahren Kinder- und Jugendbuchkritiken.