Category: Fiction

Brigitte Kronauer
Zwei schwarze Jäger
[Two black hunters]

Review

Among the notoriously unsuccessful experiments of contemporary writers are various efforts to reinvent how historical figures experienced their lives and perceived their own worlds. The results tend to be either sentimental or strained and dutiful exercises. Not so with Brigitte Kronauer who in a chapter of her latest novel Two Black Hunters gives center stage to one of the most remarkable women of the late 17th and early 18th centuries--the Duchess of Königsmarck, mistress of August the Strong and later provost of the diocese of Quedlinburg.

The episode "In the Fervor of your Suffering"—the title quotes the popular chorale „Who Solely Lets Our Dear Lord Reign“--is a captivating baroque miniature that encloses as in a casket this epoch’s intoxicating colors and glowing affects, its rigid rituals and melancholic memento mori.

Kronauer, recipient of the coveted Büchner Prize and arguably the most sophisticated and linguistically musical writer on the contemporary German literary scene, proves just as masterful in nimbly masquerading the past as in set-ups where she envelopes a brittle present with romantic irony or charges it with mythological references.

The reader who intends to follow this author had better be prepared to traverse dizzying heights, arduous lowlands, and magical labyrinths. What starts out as a satire on the literary scene soon explodes into a cleverly disorienting construct that teems with allusions and analogies, ambiguities, and subtextual correspondences.

In the tiny green parlour of a small provincial residence where the author Rita Palka reads from her narrative Two Black Hunters, the crossing points of the stuccoed latticework on the walls are marked with chips of reflecting glass. And just as Rita pieces together from the shards the reflection of the „flashing green evening light in the beautiful wilderness outside“ we recognize in the novelistic episodes and their rather discursive, occasionally tangential trajectories the scintillating reflection of Kronauer’s architectural plan overgrown with the rambling vines of narrative arabesques and ornaments.

Inspired by a famous sculpture in the Villa Borghese in Rome--two black hunters and two large cats that are mutually and forever shackled together--Rita Palka narrates the story of a very bizarre relationship.

When she sees the small-town gathering– her sparse and captive audience—react with signs of bored torpor, she transforms the ensuing story, announced as „The Grotto,“ into a showpiece of daredevil improvisation, bizarrely interweaving the cave of Polyphemus, the giant Cyclops from the Odyssey, with the grotto of Emperor Tiberius in Sperlonga, an eccentric professor of archaeology, and the tragic life story of a would-be musician from her own hometown.

This inevitably leads to a comic scandal when in a fit of jealousy the organizer’s wife smashes a replica of the sculpture of the Two Black Hunters prominently displayed in the residence, leaving its remains on the floor in a thousand pieces. Brigitte Kronauer continues what Rita Palka has started. She taunts her readers with strangely crossing life trajectories, scurrilously foundering characters, grotesque occurrences and radical narrative shifts, constantly challenging them to gather remembered and freely invented fragments and rearrange them into new constellations.

The episodes are populated by what at first glance seems to be an utterly disparate bunch. However, what ties them together are dreams and visions of happiness that can’t survive the light of day—among them are the cast-off mistress of the King of Saxony and the former beauty, now wheel-chair bound and aged beyond recognition, who challenges her ex-lover and inveterate Don Juan to seduce the odious young mothers on her block. Then there is the supermarket cashier who dreams of spicing up the daily grind by turning tricks, and the midget, the descendant of a wealthy, respectable family who, unable to let go her teenage crush on her globetrotting uncle, acts on her murderous fantasies. And finally there is the once-famous painter whose creativity has regressed to producing goat rhymes, and the editor of a publishing house, an opera buff in love with a waiter, who has embarked on a glacier tour with philosophical underpinnings to trace his deceased aunt’s footsteps on her very personal quest for happiness.

The „desire for music and mountains“–a phrase from Nietzsche and the title of Kronauer’s previous novel—is being satisfied here as well: The author’s musical language carries us across impassable terrain up to the heights where our eyes can see beyond the „horrible emptiness“ and „deadly precipices“ of human life to the distant realm of refractions and unimaginable splendor. Whenever this small miracle happens, literature—I can’t help putting it in these terms—literature has answered its most sublime calling.
Kristina Maidt-Zinke

By Kristina Maidt-Zinke, 01.03.2010

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke is a literary and music critic for the Süddeutsche Zeitung and writes reviews for Die Zeit.

Translated by Jutta Ittner

Sparte: Belletristik

Brigitte Kronauer
Zwei schwarze Jäger

Buchbesprechung

Zu den am häufigsten misslingenden Experimenten heutiger Schriftsteller gehört es, sich das Lebensgefühl und die Weltwahrnehmung historischer Figuren anzuverwandeln: Meistens wird daraus entweder Kitsch oder eine angestrengte Pflichtübung. Nicht so bei Brigitte Kronauer, die in einem Kapitel ihres jüngsten Romans Zwei schwarze Jäger die Gräfin Aurora von Königsmarck auftreten lässt, Mätresse Augusts des Starken und später Pröbstin des Stiftes Quedlinburg, eine der bemerkenswertesten Frauengestalten des späten 17. und frühen 18. Jahrhunderts.

Die Episode „In Deiner Drangsalshitze“, betitelt mit einem weniger bekannten Zitat aus dem populären Kirchenlied „Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten“, ist eine hinreißende Barock-Miniatur, die wie eine Schatulle den Farbenrausch und die Affektglut, die rigiden Rituale und die Vanitas-Melancholie jener Epoche umschließt.

Kronauer, Trägerin des Büchnerpreises und unter den deutschsprachigen Prosa-Autorinnen zur Zeit vermutlich diejenige mit der ausgeprägtesten Sprachmusikalität, bewegt sich in solchen Vergangenheits-Maskeraden ebenso souverän und leichtfüßig, wie sie in anderen Versuchsanordnungen eine brüchige Gegenwart mit romantischer Ironie umhüllt oder mit mythologischen Bezügen auflädt.

Wer ihr lesend folgen will, muss auf Höhentaumel ebenso gefasst sein wie auf die Mühen der Ebene und die Magie des Labyrinths. Was wie eine Literaturbetriebssatire beginnt, verzweigt sich alsbald in eine hinterhältig unübersichtliche Konstruktion, in der es von Anspielungen und Analogien, doppelten Böden und unterschwelligen Korrespondenzen wimmelt.

Im grünen Kabinett des Provinzschlösschens, in dem die Schriftstellerin Rita Palka eingangs aus ihrer Erzählung Zwei schwarze Jäger liest, sind die Kreuzungspunkte des Stucknetzes an den Wänden mit Spiegelplättchen markiert. So wie Rita sich aus den Scherben den Widerschein des „grün blitzenden, zuckenden Abendlichts in der schönen Wildnis draußen“ zusammensetzt, kann man in den Romanepisoden und ihren mehr oder weniger abschweifenden, ja abseitigen Verläufen den funkelnden Reflex des Kronauerschen Bauplans finden, der von Erzählgirlanden und Ornamenten wie von Schlingpflanzen überwuchert ist.

Von der berühmten Skulpturengruppe in der Villa Borghese zu Rom, die zwei schwarze Jäger und zwei Raubkatzen wechselseitig und unentrinnbar aneinandergeschmiedet zeigt, hat Rita Palka sich zu einer Beziehungsgeschichte besonderer Art inspirieren lassen.

Als ihr kleinstädtisches Lesungspublikum, spärlich und zwangsverpflichtet, mit Anzeichen dumpfer Langeweile reagiert, verwandelt sie die folgende Erzählung, angekündigt als „Die Grotte“, in ein Kabinettstück tollkühner Improvisation, das die Höhle des Riesen Polyphem aus der Odyssee, die Tiberiusgrotte in Sperlonga, einen exaltierten Archäologieprofessor und die Lebenstragödie eines verhinderten Musikers aus dem Heimatdorf der Dichterin auf das Abenteuerlichste verknüpft.

Es kommt zu einem komischen Eklat, und wenig später wird eine im Schloss aufbewahrte Replik der „Zwei schwarzen Jäger“, von der eifersüchtigen Gattin des Veranstalters zertrümmert, in tausend Bruchstücken am Boden liegen. Und Brigitte Kronauer führt fort, was Rita Palka begonnen hat, indem sie den Leser mit wunderlich sich überkreuzenden Lebensläufen, skurril scheiternden Figuren, grotesken Begebenheiten und hemmungslosen Erzählvolten provoziert, ihn beständig Fragmente von Erinnertem und Erfundenem auflesen und neu zusammenfügen lässt.

Das Personal der Episoden, auf den ersten Blick völlig disparat, ist aneinandergekettet durch Träume und Glücksvisionen, die auf dem Boden der Tatsachen zerschellen. Das haben sie gemeinsam - die ausrangierte Mätresse des Sachsenkönigs und die im Rollstuhl gealterte Schönheit, die ihren Ex-Liebhaber als Don Juan auf die Nachbarinnen ansetzt; die Supermarkt-Kassiererin, die als Prostituierte dem Alltag entfliehen will, und die zwergwüchsige Tochter aus reichem Hause, die der schwärmerischen Bindung an den weitgereisten Onkel nicht entkommt und zur Mörderin wird; der einst erfolgreiche Maler, dessen Kunstproduktion sich jetzt in Schüttelreimen erschöpft, und der opernsüchtige Verlagslektor, der sich in einen Kellner verliebt hat und nun, auf den Spuren seiner verstorbenen Tante und ihrer persönlichen Glückssuche, eine philosophisch grundierte Gletscherwanderung unternimmt.

Das „Verlangen nach Musik und Gebirge“, das – einem Nietzsche-Zitat folgend – dem vorletzten Kronauer-Roman den Titel gab, wird auch diesmal wieder gestillt: Die Sprachmusik der Autorin trägt über die Unwegsamkeiten des Geländes, bis zu jenen Höhen, auf denen der Blick über die „schreckliche Leere“ und „tödliche Abschüssigkeit“ des Menschenlebens hinweg in spiegelnde Fernen und unerhofften Glanz geleitet wird. Wo dieses kleine Wunder sich ereignet, hat Literatur, man muss es so sagen, ihre erhabenste Aufgabe erfüllt.
Kristina Maidt-Zinke

Von Kristina Maidt-Zinke, 01.03.2010

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke ist Literatur- und Musikkritikerin der Süddeutschen Zeitung und rezensiert für Die Zeit.