Category: Non-fiction

Reiner Engelmann
Der Fotograf von Auschwitz. Das Leben des Wilhelm Brasse
[The Auschwitz Photographer: The Life of Wilhelm Brasse]

Biography

Pictures of Horror Reiner Engelmann’s biography of the Auschwitz photographer Wilhelm Brasse

In the summer of 1940 Wilhelm Brasse set off from his Polish hometown of Żywiec headed for France to join the resistance against Nazi Germany. Shortly before he reached the border to Hungary, the then 22-year-old was arrested. An SS man offered to let him go, under one condition: Brasse, son of a Polish mother and an Austrian father, had to swear allegiance to his “German heritage.” Brasse refused to relinquish his Polish citizenship and was sent to Auschwitz, where he became “prisoner number 3444.” Prisoners survive at most for three months, announced an SS man in his “welcome speech” to the new arrivals in the camp.
 
Contributing to the fact that Brasse survived quite a bit longer was—aside from an enormous dose of luck—his skill with a camera. Six months after he was first incarcerated, the trained portrait photographer was assigned to the camp’s so-called ID department. From then on, his main job was to photograph other prisoners for their file: three pictures per person—profile, frontal, and semi-profile with a head covering. Sometimes Brasse shot portraits of more than one hundred people each day. Altogether he must have photographed around 70,000 people. For most of them it was the last photographs of their life.
 
Reiner Engelmann, who was able to interview Brasse extensively in October 2012, shortly before Brasse’s death, wrote the story of the “Auschwitz photographer” in a small yet remarkable book. In thirty-three short chapters, a panorama of the inhumanities is unfolded. It arouses such a strong feeling of anxiety, because Engelmann keeps his description completely free of sham pathos or false sentimentality. From the perspective of someone who lived through the times, reconstructed in a factual yet empathetic way, the life-threatening presumptions of everyday life in the camp are described. The arbitrariness and brutality of the guards are as vivid as the misanthropic cynicism of the camp doctors. In addition to the newly arrived prisoners, also the subjects of the Nazis’ “medical experiments” stood in front of Brasse’s camera. Sadists in white coats such as Josef Mendele and Carl Clauberg had their racial experiments, hunger experiments, and sterilization massacres documented in the camp’s photo studio.
 
Brasse was already well aware that what he got to view through his camera lens was only a fraction of the crimes that were committed in the so-called main camp of Auschwitz (Auschwitz I), not to mention the actual exterminatin camp Auschwitz-Birkenau. In the second half of 1941, the atrocities seemed to have reached a new dimension. Suddenly there were SS men walking around the main camp wearing gas masks. Rumors spread that people were being poisoned systematically and on a large scale with Zyklon B. Up to then the victims were generally hanged, beaten to death, or shot. At some point Brasse’s superior, Ernst Hofmann, gave him new orders in the photo studio: “Brasse, from now on you won’t photograph any more Jews. There’s no sense in that, they’ll die anyway.”
 
In passing as it were, without any tendency to inappropriately make Brasse into a hero, Engelmann sketches the character of his photographer subject. In order to survive, Brasse had to use his skills as a photographer in the service of the Nazis. Yet his moral compass remained intact. Whenever possible, he tried to help his fellow prisoners, but he was nevertheless overwhelmed by a feeling of powerlessness.
 
At a crucial moment, however, Brasse refused to obey. In January 1945, when the thunder of Red Army cannons was approaching, the head of the ID department, Oberscharführer Bernhard Walter, turned to him. “Brasse, the Russians are coming.” All documents and photographs were to be destroyed immediately. At first Brasse did in fact throw everything into the stove. But as soon as Walter left the room, he took it all back out. Almost 40,000 of his pictures have remained for posterity as documents against forgetting.
 
Engelmann’s book contains very few of Brasse’s photographs. But the author’s short, unadorned sentences create vivid pictures of horror in the minds of the readers.
Marianna Lieder

By Marianna Lieder, 13.10.2015

​Marianna Lieder works as a freelance journalist and literary critic for publications including the Tagesspiegel, the Stuttgarter Zeitung and Literaturen. She has been an editor at Philosophie Magazin since 2011.

Translated by Allison Brown

Sparte: Sachbuch

Reiner Engelmann
Der Fotograf von Auschwitz. Das Leben des Wilhelm Brasse

Biografie

Bilder des Grauens. Reiner Engelmanns Biographie des Auschwitz-Fotografen Wilhelm Brasse

Im Sommer 1940 macht sich Wilhelm Brasse aus seiner polnischen Heimatstadt Zywiec auf in Richtung Frankreich, um sich dort dem Widerstand gegen Nazi-Deutschland anzuschließen. Kurz vor der ungarischen Grenze wird der damals 22-Jährige verhaftet. Ein SS-Mann bietet ihm die Entlassung an – unter einer Bedingung:  Brasse, Sohn einer Polin und eines Österreichers, möge sich zu seiner "volksdeutschen Abstammung" bekennen. Brasse weigert sich, die polnische Staatsbürgerschaft aufzugeben, und kommt als "Häftling Nummer 3444" nach Auschwitz. Höchstens drei Monate würde ein Gefangener hier überleben, verkündet ein SS-Mann bei seiner "Begrüßungsrede" den Neuankömmlingen im Lager.
 
Dazu, dass Brasse weitaus länger durchhielt, trugen – von einer enormen Portion Glück abgesehen – seine Fähigkeiten im Umgang mit der Kamera bei. Ein halbes Jahr nach seiner Inhaftierung wurde der ausgebildete Porträtfotograf zum sogenannten Erkennungsdienst des Lagers abkommandiert. Fortan bestand seine Hauptaufgabe darin, andere Häftlinge für die Kartei abzulichten – drei Bilder pro Person: von der Seite, frontal, im Halbprofil mit Kopfbedeckung. Manchmal porträtierte Brasse mehr als 100 Personen pro Tag. Insgesamt müssen es an die 70.000 Menschen gewesen sein. Für die allermeisten war es das letzte Foto ihres Lebens.
 
Reiner Engelmann, der Brasse kurz vor seinem Tod im Oktober 2012 noch ausführlich interviewen konnte, hat die Geschichte des "Fotografen von Auschwitz" in einem kleinen, aber bemerkenswerten Buch aufgeschrieben. In 33 Kurzkapiteln wird ein Panorama der Unmenschlichkeiten aufgefächert, das gerade deswegen eine starke Beklemmung hervorruft, weil Engelmann seine Schilderung vollkommen frei hält von Pathos oder falscher Sentimentalität. Aus der ebenso sachlich wie einfühlsam rekonstruierten Zeitzeugenperspektive werden die lebensbedrohlichen Zumutungen des Lageralltags geschildert, die Willkür und Brutalität der Aufseher wird ebenso veranschaulicht wie der menschenverachtende Zynismus der Lagerärzte. So traten neben den Neu-Inhaftierten auch jene vor Brasses Kamera, an denen die Nationalsozialisten ihre "medizinischen Forschungen" durchführten.  Sadisten im weißen Kittel wie Josef Mengele und Carl Clauberg ließen im Fotoatelier des Lagers ihre "Rassenuntersuchungen", Hungerexperimente und Sterilisationsmassaker dokumentieren. 
 
Brasse wusste bereits damals sehr genau, dass er durch die Linse nur einen Bruchteil der Verbrechen zu sehen bekam, die allein im sogenannten Stammlager Auschwitz (Auschwitz I), wo er inhaftiert war, verübt wurden – vom eigentlichen Vernichtungslager Auschwitz-Birkenau ganz zu schweigen. In der zweiten Jahreshälfte 1941 schien die Grausamkeit allerdings eine neue Dimension zu erreichen: Plötzlich sah man SS-Männer mit Gasmasken im Stammlager umher laufen. Gerüchte machten sich breit, denen zufolge Menschen nun massenweise und systematisch mit Zyklon B vergiftet wurden –  bisher wurden die Opfer in der Regel erhängt, totgeprügelt oder erschossen. Irgendwann erteilte Brasses Vorgesetzter Ernst Hofmann im Fotoatelier den Befehl: "Brasse, ab heute wirst du keine Juden mehr fotografieren. Das hat keinen Sinn, die sterben sowieso."
 
Gewissermaßen nebenbei, ohne Hang zur unangemessenen Heroisierung, skizziert Engelmann das Charakterbild des Porträtisten Brasse: Er musste seine Fähigkeiten als Fotograf in den Dienst der Nationalsozialisten stellen, um zu überleben. Sein moralischer Kompass blieb jedoch intakt. Wann immer es ging, versuchte er seinen Mithäftlingen zu helfen. Dennoch übermannte auch ihn das Gefühl der Ohnmacht.
 
In einem entscheidenden Moment allerdings hat Brasse den Gehorsam verweigert: Im Januar 1945, als der Kanonendonner der Roten Armee näher rückte, wandte sich der Leiter des Erkennungsdienstes, Obersturmführer Bernhard Walter, an den Fotografen: "Brasse, der Iwan kommt." Alle Dokumente und Aufnahmen sollten umgehend vernichtet werden. Zunächst warf Brasse tatsächlich das gesamte Material in den Ofen. Kaum war Walter verschwunden, zog er alles wieder heraus. Fast 40.000 seiner Bilder sind der Nachwelt als Dokumente gegen das Vergessen erhalten geblieben.
 
In Engelmanns Buch finden sich nur wenige der Fotografien Brasses. Durch die knappen, schnörkellosen Sätze entstehen die Bilder des Grauens im Kopf des Lesers.
Marianna Lieder

Von Marianna Lieder, 13.10.2015

​Marianna Lieder ist seit 2011 Redakteurin beim „Philosophie Magazin“. Als freie Journalistin und Literaturkritikerin arbeitet sie u. a. für den Tagesspiegel, die Stuttgarter Zeitung und Literaturen.