Category: Fiction

Lutz Seiler
Stern 111
[Star 111]

Novel

A visionary take on the Wende

For a long time Germany waited expectantly for the epic novel about the Wende - for a definitive and truly worthy literary treatment of the great theme of the unification of the two Germanies. Gradually, however, the realisation dawned that in fact there was probably never going to be an all-embracing magnum opus of that sort, and that instead a whole succession of novelists would over the years shine a light on specific aspects of the topic and thereby bring it as vividly to life as their individual narrative skills allowed.

More recently, indeed, the issue appeared to have taken a back seat - until the 30th anniversary of unification served to bring it to the fore once again. Lutz Seiler, born in 1963 in the Thuringian town of Gera, was not the only author to respond to the challenge, but his novel Stern 111 stands out from its competitors thanks to a poetic radiance that appears fully worthy of the star in its title. And yet what lies behind it is a mere radio - a portable radio that enabled the 16-year-old in Thuringia to listen-in to the big wide world and which in the process turned into an emblem instinct with promise for the future.

Lutz Seiler had already achieved distinction as a writer of both poetry and prose by the time he won the German Book Prize in 2014 for his first novel, Kruso. Even more than in his debut novel, he weaves autobiographical elements into his new book, making use of the powerful authenticity, rich imagery and sensuous immediacy of his memories to give his fiction additional vitality. Above all, however, he directs our attention to an aspect of the Wende that has not previously found literary expression: the protagonist, Carl Bischoff - time-served bricklayer, ex-soldier, university dropout and aspiring poet - experiences the brief period of transition from one social system to another as a time-window full of risks and opportunities, daring experiments and utopian visions. Such things come to nothing in the face of the ensuing reality with its unyielding mix of the new and the old - but out of the turmoil there emerges a poet that we have no difficulty in recognising as Lutz Seiler.

It begins with Carl being caught by surprise: his parents, an unremarkable couple from the depths of the Thuringian provinces, decide there and then to go off to the West to try and make a fresh start. Their son, who happens at that point to be in the throes of a major existential crisis, is supposed to stay behind in Gera and look after their house, car and workshop. But soon he, too, decides to get away, and before long he finds himself in the underground scene in East Berlin, where he pals up with a ‘smart gang’ of outsiders who are trying out alternative ways of living and supporting themselves. In this somewhat bizarre milieu Lutz Seiler contrives in a decidedly romantic spirit to create a space for the enactment of free-ranging fantasies, underpinned by a finely wrought web of literary subtexts and allusions. The narrative as a whole, however, remains firmly rooted in reality thanks to the world of ‘things’, so characteristic of the period, which the author calmly, repeatedly and very expressively draws on, and of which the eponymous radio of the novel’s title is also part. Stern 111 - winner of the Leipzig Book Fair Prize - is not least an act of homage to craftsmanship and the rapidly vanishing machine age.

In his early years Lutz Seiler trained as a craftsman in the building trade - and he has remained an excellent craftsman in his writing, too. By successfully combining the epitomisation of an era, linguistic elegance and a subtly conveyed political message, he has created what we can safely describe as a masterpiece. And if at some point in the future this book does indeed enter the literary pantheon as the great representation of the Wende, it will certainly have deserved its place.
Kristina Maidt-Zinke

By Kristina Maidt-Zinke, 25.09.2020

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke is a literary and music critic for the Süddeutsche Zeitung and writes reviews for Die Zeit.

Translated by John Reddick

Sparte: Belletristik

Lutz Seiler
Stern 111

Roman

Die Wende als Vision

Lange wartete man in Deutschland auf „das“ Wende-Epos, die definitive und repräsentative literarische Verarbeitung des großen Themas der deutsch-deutschen Vereinigung. Allmählich aber festigte sich die Erkenntnis, dass es ein derartiges Opus maximum wohl nicht geben würde, dass vielmehr eine Reihe von Romanschriftsteller*innen im Laufe der Jahre diesen Stoff in seinen verschiedenen Facetten beleuchten und, je nach ihrem erzählerischen Vermögen, zum Leuchten bringen würden.

In jüngster Zeit schien das Sujet sogar in den Hintergrund zu rücken – bis der 30. Jahrestag des Vereinigungsdatums eine Neubelebung nahelegte. Lutz Seiler, 1963 im thüringischen Gera geboren, war nicht der einzige Autor, der darauf reagierte, aber sein Roman „Stern 111“ hebt sich von den Konkurrenten durch eine poetische Strahlkraft ab, die dem Titel in jeder Weise gerecht zu werden scheint. Und doch verbirgt sich dahinter nur ein Radio, ein Koffergerät, mit dem sich im Thüringen der Sechzigerjahre schon die große weite Welt empfangen ließ und das dadurch zu einer Chiffre der Verheißung wurde. 

Lutz Seiler hatte sich als Lyriker und Erzähler bereits hohe Anerkennung erworben, als er mit seinem ersten Roman  „Kruso“ im Jahr 2014 den Deutschen Buchpreis gewann. Mehr noch als bei jenem Debüt lässt er bei seinem neuen Werk autobiografische Elemente einfließen und nutzt die Kraft des Authentischen, den Bilderreichtum und die sinnliche Präsenz seiner Erinnerungen, um die Lebendigkeit der Fiktion zu steigern. Vor allem aber lenkt er den Blick auf eine Seite des Wende-Geschehens, die bislang  noch keinen Weg in die Literatur gefunden hatte: Die kurze Phase des Übergangs von einem Gesellschaftssystem ins andere erlebt der Held Carl Bischoff, gelernter Maurer, Ex-Soldat, Studienunterbrecher und werdender Poet, als einen Zeitkorridor voller Chancen und Risiken, abenteuerlicher Experimente und utopischer Visionen. Zwar müssen sie alle an der starren Realität der neu-alten Verhältnisse scheitern, aber am Ende steht die Geburt eines Dichters, der unschwer als Lutz Seiler zu erkennen ist.

Es  beginnt mit der Überraschung, dass Carls Eltern,  unauffällige Eheleute aus der thüringischen Provinz, sich kurzentschlossen auf den Weg nach Westen machen, um dort einen Neubeginn zu wagen. Ihr Sohn, den gerade eine Sinn- und Existenzkrise beutelt, soll sich in Gera um Haus, Auto und Werkstatt kümmern. Doch schon bald entscheidet auch er sich für den Aufbruch und landet in der Underground-Szene Ost-Berlins, wo er Kontakt zu einem „klugen Rudel“ von Außenseitern findet, die alternative Lebens- und Wirtschaftsformen erproben. In diesem leicht skurrilen Milieu entfaltet Lutz Seiler in geradezu romantischer Manier einen Spielraum für frei schweifende Fantasien und legt darunter ein kunstvolles Geflecht literarischer Subtexte und Verweise. Geerdet aber wird das Ganze immer wieder durch die zeittypische Dingwelt, die der Autor in aller Ruhe und mit höchster Anschaulichkeit vorführt und zu der auch das titelgebende Radio gehört. „Stern 111“,  mit dem Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse ausgezeichnet,  ist nicht zuletzt eine Hommage an das Handwerk und an das sich verabschiedende Zeitalter der Mechanik.

Lutz Seiler, in jungen Jahren zum Baufacharbeiter ausgebildet, ist auch als Schriftsteller ein exzellenter Handwerker geblieben. Was ihm hier an Epochenverdichtung, sprachlicher Eleganz und hintergründiger politischer Aussage gelungen ist, darf man getrost als Meisterstück bezeichnen. Und sollte dieser Roman einst doch noch als das ultimative Wende-Epos in die Literaturgeschichte eingehen – er hätte es verdient.
Kristina Maidt-Zinke

Von Kristina Maidt-Zinke, 25.09.2020

​Kristina Maidt-Zinke ist Literatur- und Musikkritikerin der Süddeutschen Zeitung und rezensiert für Die Zeit.