Deutsche Verlags-Anstalt



Since its foundation in 1831 Deutsche Verlags-Anstalt has published works by many leading writers, scholars and architects, as well as politicians and journalists from Germany and Europe, either in book form or within the pages of one of its journals. The DVA books’ section alone feature works by twelve Nobel prize-winners, four German Federal Presidents and thirteen German Chancellors.

DVA authors range from Konrad Adenauer, Theodor Heuss and Tania Blixen through Charles Dickens, Albert Einstein, Theodor Fontane, Erich Kästner, Erich Fromm, Le Corbusier, Sarah Kirsch, Carlos Fuentes, José Ortega y Gasset and Marcel Reich-Ranicki to Leo Tolstoi and Emile Zola.

Today DVA's reputation for publishing quality literature is based on its editions of work by poets such as Paul Celan, Sarah Kirsch, Doris Runge, Ulla Hahn and C.W. Aigner; by novelists such as Joyce Carol Oates, Carlos Fuentes, Sibylle Lewitscharoff and Thomas Rosenboom; and of André Gide’s diaries and Marcel Reich-Ranicki’s essays.

Leading DVA authors from the fields of history and politics include Arnulf Baring, Marion Gräfin Dönhoff, Sebastian Haffner, Ian Kershaw, Richard J. Evans, Richard Overy and Niall Ferguson.

The story of DVA stretches back into the first half of the nineteenth century. These days Kösel-Verlag and Manesse Verlag are also subsidiary companies of the publishing house. The DVA publishing group also has a significant share in DTV (Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag).