Mairisch Verlag was founded in 1999. One focus of the program is young literature. The publishing house endeavors to promote young fiction authors and to accompany them throughout their career. In the area of non-fiction, the series “The Philosophy of...” deals with topics such as cycling, running, climbing, gardening and cooking. It also publishes the winning title of the annual Hamburg Graphic Novel Award AFKAT, as well as the magazine for illustration “Spring.”

As an independent publisher, mairisch is also committed to supporting independent publishers and bookstores. In 2009, mairisch was one of 20 publishers responsible for creating the “Hotlist” of best books from independent publishers. In 2013, mairisch initiated Indiebookday to attract more attention to books from small independent publishers. In 2014, the publishing house was awarded the Kurt Wolff Foundation Prize.