Category: Fiction

Ricarda Junge
Die letzten warmen Tage
[The last warm days]

Novel

Always on the move: Ricarda Junge’s atmospheric East-West novel “The last warm days”

Sonnenberg is one of Wiesbaden’s wealthiest neighborhoods. The sisters Anna and Eike grew up there in the 1980s and 90s, living what would appear to be a carefree and harmonious life. The father is a Protestant pastor, easily identifiable by his, “two small black suitcases, one for baptisms at home, the other for the celebration of Holy Communion.” Their mother Christine had escaped to the West with her family just before the Wall was built in 1961. Christine’s father Karl disappeared shortly after their arrival to the West. The unanswered question whether he indeed returned to East Germany troubles the grandchildren into the present day: “Mother’s wariness, her ceaseless suspicion - maybe that’s how all refugees behave. She was born in East Germany, in Rostock. Her parents had fled with her and her brother to the West when she was eleven years old. That was a long time ago, she was just a child, that’s what she always says, and yet: Once you’ve lost everything, that's it -. No, it stays missing for a lifetime. So you look closely, and remain on guard.”

Christine works as a doctor at the public health department, where she tests African prostitutes for AIDS - a laborious procedure, for as soon as she draws blood from the clueless patients, they begin to panic and scream. Meanwhile, the women’s pimps are waiting outside the building in their flashy cars. Such scenes, so vivid in detail, are the stuff that make Ricarda Junge’s fourth novel, “The last warm days,” so memorable and entertaining.

The award-winning author, born 1979 in Wiesbaden, has modeled the main character Anna closely on her own biography: both the character and author’s families are from the East, are pastor’s daughters, knew they wanted to write from an early age, and both studied writing at the German Literature Institute in Leipzig - Ricarda Junge then went on to study Protestant theology. Anna describes herself as a second generation “refugee child” with an “inherited sense of loss.” She describes Wiesbaden with a subtle sense of irony, calling it a: “dumb beauty, devotedly snuggling up to the valley, to its dungeon. [...] by comparison, Leipzig was an open field, with exposed flanks to the north, east, south and west.” It is this geographical and temporal contrast between the old sated Federal Republic, which Wiesbaden personifies, and the “new,” yet undefined areas of Leipzig and East Berlin, which gives the novel its far-reaching impact.

The plot jumps back and forth, chapter by chapter, between Anna's youth and her present day life. “Today’s” Anna supposedly works as a freelance copywriter for an online retailer called “Universal Shoes” in Berlin. One evening she meets the businessman Constantin on the street, whose quirks she describes in intricate detail. No wonder Anna can’t quite get involved with him. Just as her mother (the actual main character) had lingered around at the furniture store with her children in tow, unable to make a decision about which curtains or lamps to buy, the adult Anna also is unable to make decisions. She is constantly seeking a locus amoenus: “If we are capable of thinking ourselves into a better place than the one we are in at the moment, why shouldn’t we stay there?” The only sense of security she has is her brother and the desire to write.

At the end we finally discover the fate of the missing grandfather Karl, but it is no longer relevant to Anna's present life. Perhaps Ricarda Junge might have been a bit too faithful to her real family history; causing the story to lose a certain narrative freedom. But Junge’s vivid scenes and language offers an atmospheric panorama of fifty years of German history as seen through the individual fates of her characters.
 
Katrin Hillgruber

By Katrin Hillgruber, 05.02.2015

​The author is a freelance literary critic and cultural journalist based in Munich and was a Litrix.de jury member for literary fiction from 2009-2012.

Translated by Zaia Alexander

Sparte: Belletristik

Ricarda Junge
Die letzten warmen Tage

Roman

Immer auf dem Sprung: Ricarda Junges atmosphärischer Ost-West-Roman „Die letzten warmen Tage“

Sonnenberg gilt als der wohlhabendste Stadtteil Wiesbadens. Hier wachsen in den 1980er und `90er Jahren die Geschwister Anna und Eike auf – nach außen hin sorglos und harmonisch. Der Vater ist evangelischer Pastor, äußerlich erkennbar an „zwei kleinen schwarzen Koffern, einer für Haustaufen, der andere für die Feier des Abendmahls“. Die Mutter Christine kam mit ihrer Familie unmittelbar vor dem Mauerbau 1961 in den Westen, ihr Vater Karl verschwand kurze Zeit später. Die unbeantwortete Frage, ob er in die DDR zurückkehrte, belastet auch noch die Enkel: „Mutters Vorsicht, dieses ewige Misstrauen – vielleicht ist das bei allen Flüchtlingen so. Sie ist in der DDR geboren, in Rostock. Als sie elf Jahre alt war, waren ihre Eltern mit ihr und ihrem Bruder in den Westen geflohen. Das ist lange her, sie sei noch ein Kind gewesen, sagt sie immer, und trotzdem: Einmal alles verloren, das reicht – nein, das fehlt für ein ganzes Leben. Da guckt man genau hin, passt auf.“
 
Christine arbeitet als Ärztin im städtischen Gesundheitsamt, wo sie hauptsächlich afrikanische Prostituierte auf Aids testet – eine mühsame Prozedur, da die ahnungslosen Patientinnen panisch kreischen, sobald ihnen Blut abgenommen werden soll. Vor der Behörde warten derweil die Zuhälter in ihren protzigen Karossen. Es sind solche plastischen Szenen und sprechenden Details, die Ricarda Junges vierten Roman „Die letzten warmen Tage“ zu einer einprägsamen und zugleich unterhaltsamen Lektüre machen.
 
Die 1979 in Wiesbaden geborene, mehrfach ausgezeichnete Autorin hat die Hauptfigur Anna eng an ihre eigene Biographie angelehnt: beider Familien stammen aus dem Osten, beide sind Pfarrerstöchter, wollten seit frühester Jugend schreiben und haben am Deutschen Literaturinstitut in Leipzig studiert – Ricarda Junge anschließend noch evangelische Theologie. Anna empfindet sich als „Flüchtlingskind“ in zweiter Generation mit einem „vererbten Gefühl von Verlust“. Über Wiesbaden heißt es in sanfter Ironie, die Stadt sei eine „dumme Schöne, die sich ergeben ins Tal, ihren Kerker, schmiegt. […] Verglichen damit war Leipzig ein offenes Feld, mit ungeschützten Flanken nach Norden, Osten, Süden und Westen.“ Es ist dieser geographische und zeitliche Kontrast zwischen der alten saturierten Bundesrepublik, verkörpert in Wiesbaden, und den „neuen“, noch undefinierten Orten Leipzig und Ost-Berlin, der dem weit ausgreifenden Roman Spannung verleiht.
 
Die Handlung springt kapitelweise zwischen Annas Jugend und ihrer Gegenwart hin und her. Die „heutige“ Anna arbeitet als scheinselbständige Werbetexterin beim Online-Versandhaus „Universal Shoes“ in Berlin. Eines Abends begegnet sie auf der Straße dem Geschäftsmann Constantin, dessen Marotten in aller Ausführlichkeit geschildert werden. Kein Wunder, dass sich Anna nicht recht auf ihn einlassen kann. So wie ihre Mutter (die eigentliche Hauptfigur) lange Zeit weder Vorhänge noch Lampen anbringen wollte und mit den Kindern tagelang unschlüssig im Möbelgeschäft verweilte, so kann sich auch die erwachsene Anna nicht festlegen. Stets sucht sie den einen Locus amoenus: „Wenn wir in der Lage sind, uns an einen besseren Ort zu denken als den, an dem wir uns gerade befinden, warum sollten wir dort nicht bleiben?“ Sicherheit geben ihr allein der Bruder und die Gewissheit, schreiben zu wollen.
 
Als gegen Ende das Schicksal des verschwundenen Großvaters Karl aufgeklärt wird, ist das für Annas eigenes Leben nicht mehr wirklich relevant. Möglicherweise hat Ricarda Junge ihren neuen Roman zu sehr an der eigenen Familiengeschichte angelegt und sich dadurch mancher erzählerischer Freiheit beraubt. Dennoch überzeugt er dank der exakten, plastischen Sprache als atmosphärische Darstellung von fünfzig Jahren deutscher Geschichte anhand von Einzelschicksalen
Katrin Hillgruber

Von Katrin Hillgruber, 05.02.2015

​Die Autorin lebt als freie Literaturkritikerin und Kulturjournalistin in München und war von 2009 bis Ende 2012 Belletristik-Jurorin bei Litrix.de