Category: Fiction

Lorenz Langenegger
Dorffrieden
[Village Peace]

Novel

The Province as a Safe Space

The big city is far away, the idyll is nearly perfect. Police officer Max Wattenhofer feels downright cozy in his village. The conscientious man values order. Apart from a couple of drunk teenagers and illegally parked cars, there are no problems in his peaceful lake community. And that’s the way he wants it to stay. For Wattenhofer, maintaining law and order is a valuable service to society. "Of course this little world is not ideal, but at least it’s a well-functioning one," says the 50-year-old man, who’s been married for more than 20 years. His marriage functions too, and that’s important to him.

Swiss author Lorenz Langenegger portrays his main protagonist as a likeable, good-natured lawman. His village serves as a perfect safe space in an ever-accelerating globalized world marked by the fear of terrorism. Written in the present tense, in a quiet, clear prose, Langenegger charmingly tells the story of this policeman’s tireless efforts to protect his community from the negative effects of the modern world. Wattenhofer is shocked to learn that his grown son smokes pot. He can barely believe that his wife admits to once having smoked it herself. He’s irritated by the fact that his station house is now called a "safety service center." What's happened to the simple world he once knew?

Wattenhofer’s concerns grow when he gets a lead from Frau Ramsauer, the widow of the former president of the local council. She says that vandals have been at work at the parking lot outside the school. He takes these statements seriously and eventually stumbles into a case more complicated than what he’s used to. At the alleged scene of the crime he finds a discarded cigarette pack containing the key to a locker. Wattenhofer also finds a suspicious rental car parked in the lot. The key leads the police officer to the local swimming pool, to an old gym bag, to the village museum, to a nightclub – and finally to a pair of rubber boots that helps him solve the case.

Through the investigations of his modest hero, Lorenz Langenegger deftly paints a detailed picture of a village community where no one is a stranger. With a hint of exaggeration and subtle irony, Langenegger tells the story of self-sufficient village folk in a world where nothing moves too fast. For Wattenhofer, however, the eponymous village peace is always under threat, which is why he’s even willing to spend the night of his wedding anniversary trying to solve the case. His commitment pays off. The mystery is resolved and Wattenhofer can breathe easy. Behind seemingly peculiar events lurks all-too-human behavior. The province is a safe space once again. And Wattenhofer can continue playing solitaire on his office computer.

Lorenz Langenegger’s third novel is yet another successful, if gentle example of the regional detective story so popular in the German-speaking world. The genre is less about realistic portrayals of crime-solving than offering an amusing portrait of a certain segment of society, suspense guaranteed. Langenegger heightens this suspense near the end of his novel without jeopardizing the subtle comedy of its plot or losing empathy for his protagonist. He portrays in casual prose the endearing quirks of his investigator in a miniature world that defies globalization.
Günter Keil

By Günter Keil, 28.02.2018

Günter Keil is a freelance cultural journalist and juror (Toucan Prize of the City of Munich, Stuttgart Crime Novel Prize). He reviews new books and interviews authors for Süddeutsche Zeitung, SPIEGEL Online, and Die Welt.

Translated by David Burnett

Sparte: Belletristik

Lorenz Langenegger
Dorffrieden

Roman

Provinz als Schutzraum

Die Großstadt ist fern, die Idylle nahezu perfekt. Polizeiwachtmeister Max Wattenhofer fühlt sich in seinem Dorf ausgesprochen wohl. Der gewissenhafte Mann schätzt den Frieden – außer ein paar betrunkenen Jugendlichen und falsch geparkten Autos gibt es keine Probleme in der beschaulichen Seegemeinde. Und so soll es auch bleiben. Ruhe und Ordnung zu bewahren, diese Aufgabe stellt für Wattenhofer einen wertvollen Dienst an der Gesellschaft dar. „Natürlich ist auch diese kleine Welt keine ideale, aber zumindest eine, die gut funktioniert" meint der 50-jährige, der seit mehr als 20 Jahren verheiratet ist. Auch seine Ehe funktioniert, darauf legt er Wert.

Der Schweizer Schriftsteller Lorenz Langenegger zeigt seine Hauptfigur als sympathischen, gutmütigen Vertreter des Gesetzes. Sein Dorf fungiert als perfekter Schutzraum in einer globalisierten Welt voller Terrorangst und Beschleunigung. Im Präsens, in stiller, klarer Prosa erzählt Langenegger charmant vom unermüdlichen Versuch des Polizisten, seine Gemeinde vor negativen Ausprägungen der modernen Welt zu schützen. Dass sein erwachsener Sohn kifft, schockiert Wattenhofer. Dass seine Frau zugibt, selbst Gras geraucht zu haben, kann er kaum fassen. Dass seine Polizeiwache nun „Dienstleistungszentrum Sicherheit" heißt, irritiert ihn. Wo ist sie nur geblieben, seine beschauliche Welt?

Wattenhofers Besorgnis wächst, als er von Frau Direktor Ramsauer, der Witwe des ehemaligen Gemeinderatspräsidenten, einen Hinweis erhält: Auf dem Parkplatz vor der Schule hätten Vandalen gewütet. Der Wachtmeister nimmt diese Aussage ernst und schlittert in einen für seine Verhältnisse komplizierten Fall. Am vermeintlichen Tatort findet er eine weggeworfene Zigarettenschachtel, in der ein Spindschlüssel steckt. Zudem erfährt Wattenhofer, dass ein verdächtiger Mietwagen auf dem Gelände parkte. Der Schlüssel führt den Polizisten ins örtliche Schwimmbad, zu einer alten Sporttasche, ins Dorfmuseum, in einen Nachtclub – und schließlich zu einem Paar Gummistiefel, das zur Lösung des Falles beiträgt.

Durch die Ermittlungen seines bescheidenen Helden vermittelt Lorenz Langenegger geschickt ein umfassendes Bild der Dorfgemeinde, in der jeder jeden kennt. Leicht zugespitzt, mit feiner Ironie erzählt Langenegger von genügsamen Menschen in einer entschleunigten Umgebung. Für den Wachtmeister ist der titelgebende Dorffrieden jedoch stets in Gefahr, weshalb Wattenhofer sogar den Abend und die Nacht seines Hochzeitstages durcharbeitet. Sein Engagement zeigt Wirkung: Der Fall wird schließlich gelöst, und Wattenhofer kann aufatmen. Hinter den scheinbar seltsamen Ereignissen steckt nur allzu menschliches Verhalten. Die Provinz bietet also weiterhin Schutz. Und er kann wieder in Ruhe Patience am Bürobildschirm spielen.

Lorenz Langenegger überzeugt auch in seinem dritten Roman mit einer sanften Version der im deutschsprachigen Raum sehr erfolgreichen Regionalkrimis. Dieses Genre steht weniger für realistisch geschilderte Verbrechensaufklärung als vielmehr für amüsante Milieustudien mit Spannungsgarantie. Auch Langenegger verstärkt gegen Ende seines Romans die suspense-Anteile, ohne die unaufdringliche Komik seiner Handlung und die empathische Nähe zu den Protagonisten zu verlieren. In einer gelassenen Sprache schildert er die liebevollen Eigenheiten seines Ermittlers in einer Miniaturwelt, die der Globalisierung trotzt.
Günter Keil

Von Günter Keil, 28.02.2018

Günter Keil ist freier Kulturjournalist und Juror (Tukan Preis der Stadt München, Stuttgarter Krimipreis). Er rezensiert Neuerscheinungen und interviewt Autoren u.a. für Süddeutsche Zeitung, SPIEGEL Online, Die Welt.