Category: Non-fiction

Götz Aly
Michael Sontheimer
Fromms [Fromms] - Wie der jüdische Kondomfabrikant Julius F. unter die deutschen Räuber fiel [How the Jewish Condom Manufacturer, Julius F., Got Robbed by the German Thieves]

Biography

Review

“The minor stories--not infrequently dreadful and only discovered by chance--which even our archivists miss in their guidebooks directed toward fame and sensation, are what make the writing of history so gratifying.”

And it is precisely one of these minor stories that Götz Aly and Michael Sontheimer have rescued from forgetting and given us access to: the story of the Jewish condom manufacturer Julius Fromm, the founder and owner of one of “those Jewish enterprises which perished in the Nazi period and have been almost completely ignored by historians.”

The authors combine the economic history of the business with the history of the Fromm family which, hoping for a better life, left the Russian town of Konin for Berlin in 1893. That’s how Israel (later Julius) Fromm, at that time ten years old, made it from the Jewish ghetto of a town shaped by poverty and piety to Berlin’s Scheunenviertel, the most impoverished and disreputable part of the city. At first the family survived by rolling cigarettes, but Julius wanted more. Having taught himself the chemistry of rubber processing, in 1914 at the age of 30 he founded a one-man company to manufacture of rubber goods. He apparently had a sense for the right product at the right time, because in the First World War the demand for condoms rose enormously. By making crucial improvements, Fromm created the first brand-name condom in 1916, a product that he vouched for with his own name.

With the constant increase in production, it became necessary to expand the business as well. The new factory building of 1930 was well lit, practical and very up to date with its Bauhaus-style architecture. Its standards in terms of working conditions went far beyond the usual ones of the time.

The history of Julius Fromm is one of ascent, but it’s also about the integration and defiance of a man who did not wish to see himself as a victim in times of rising anti-Semitism. His assimilation almost reached the point of self-denial. In 1933 Fromm let a swastika flag wave in his company’s commissary and encouraged both of his managers to join the Nazi party. His condoms were now promoted as “triumphant first-glass products.” He could not imagine that he, a patriotic entrepreneur and good taxpayer would simply be driven away. But all of his accommodations proved to be in vain: even his business finally fell victim to “Aryanization.” In 1938, Julius Fromm was forced to sell his factory for a song to Göring’s godmother.

Even though he had hesitated for a long time in the face of ongoing harassment to leave the country for good, he managed to get himself and most members of his family to London and exile at the last minute.

The history of this business is additionally a good illustration of how Jewish companies in the “Third Reich” were plundered both by the state and by individuals, of how “Aryanization” and corruption in this period were linked.

These days there is very little information left about Julius Fromm. Important sources such as the company archives and estate papers have been lost. The book can therefore be little more than a silhouette. Aly and Sontheimer conducted interviews with some of the relatives of Julius Fromm who are still alive. But the largest part of the story is provided by official documents from the “Third Reich.” In the book’s second half, Julius Fromm is hardly an active figure at all anymore. In this way, even the narrative illustrates the inactivity to which Fromm was condemned after his escape, as the Nazis in Germany gradually appropriated his fortune in elaborate bureaucratic maneuvers.

What starts in the form of anecdotes, ends by necessity in the detailed reconstruction of net assets. Aly and Sontheimer increasingly permit the numbers to speak for themselves. The description of account transactions, the uncommented enumeration of ownership structures shows how enormous the plundering was. In this way, the depicted of the injustice committed becomes almost unbearable. Aly and Sontheimer meticulously reconstruct how the assets left behind by Fromm were “socialized.” His bank assets were incorporated as war bonds for the Reich Treasury. His Berlin mansion in the Rolandstrasse was passed on to a recipient of the Knight’s Cross in 1943, following the deportation and murder of his relatives who still remained. The household furnishings were publicly auctioned, from costly furniture to simple housewares: “national comrades” became sale shoppers. In his book Hitlers Volksstaat, Aly has already portrayed how the expropriation of the Jews by the Nazi regime was seen as a legitimate means for propping up the nation’s budget. The plundering of Fromm’s property is a significant example for this, the fate of an individual showing the workings of Hitler's “dictatorship of accommodation.” “Julius Fromm fell victim to thieves. Yet he did not fall victim to a heap of bandits, but to a state and its citizens.” That’s how the authors sum it up. They estimate that the expropriation of Fromm at today’s prices be valued about 30 Million Euros.

The GDR did not want to see Fromm as a victim of the Nazi regime, but as a “capitalist exploiter,” classifying his rubber works as the “asset of a war criminal“ so as to turn it into a state-owned enterprise. And West Germany refused in 1962 to pay compensation for what it called “leaving furniture behind.”

Julius Fromm didn’t have to experience that any more. He died in 1945, just few days after the war’s end, in London, where until the end he had preserved the hope of being able to return to production in his factory one day soon.
Vorname Name

By Patrizia Loacker, 01.10.2007

Translated by David A. Brenner

Sparte: Sachbuch

Götz Aly
Michael Sontheimer
Fromms - Wie der jüdische Kondomfabrikant Julius F. unter die deutschen Räuber fiel

Biografie

Buchbesprechung

„Die nicht selten abgründigen, immer nur zufällig gefundenen Nebengeschichten, die unsere Archivare in ihren auf die Haupt- und Staatsaktionen gerichteten Findbüchern überblenden, machen die Historiographie so liebenswert“.

Und genau eine dieser Nebengeschichten ist es, die Götz Aly und Michael Sontheimer uns wieder zugänglich gemacht haben, die sie dem Vergessen entrissen haben: die des jüdischen Kondomfabrikanten Julius Fromm, dem Gründer und Besitzer eines „jener jüdischen Unternehmen, die in der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus untergingen und von der Geschichtswissenschaft fast durchweg ignoriert werden.“

Die Autoren verbinden die Wirtschaftsgeschichte des Unternehmens mit der Geschichte der Familie Fromm, die, getrieben von der Hoffnung auf ein besseres Leben, 1893 aus dem russischen Konin nach Berlin übersiedelt. So gelangt der damals 10-jährige Israel (später Julius) Fromm aus dem jüdischen Ghetto einer von Armut und Frömmelei geprägten Kleinstadt ins Berliner Scheunenviertel, die ärmste und verrufenste Ecke der Stadt. Hier schlägt sich die Familie zunächst mit dem Drehen von Zigaretten durch, doch Julius will mehr. Autodidaktisch eignet er sich das chemische Wissen zur Gummiverarbeitung an und gründet, gut 30-jährig, 1914 eine Einmann-Firma zur Fabrikation von Gummiwaren. Er hat offenbar ein Gespür für das richtige Produkt zur richtigen Zeit, denn mit dem ersten Weltkrieg steigt der Bedarf an Kondomen enorm an. Durch entscheidende Verbesserungen schafft Fromm 1916 das erste Markenkondom, für das er dann auch mit seinem Namen bürgt. Mit der ständigen Steigerung der Produktion geht ebenfalls eine räumliche Vergrößerung einher. Das neue Fabrikgebäude von 1930 ist hell, praktisch und sehr modern im Bauhausstil gehalten. Seine Ansprüche an zeitgemäße Arbeitsbedingungen gehen dabei weit über die damals üblichen Standards hinaus.

Die Geschichte des Julius Fromm handelt vom Aufstieg, aber auch von der Anpassung und dem Trotz eines Mannes, der sich auch in Zeiten zunehmenden Antisemitismus nicht in einer Opferrolle sehen will. Die Anpassung geht fast bis zur Selbstverleugnung: 1933 lässt Fromm in seiner Kantine eine Hakenkreuzfahne aufhängen und ermutigt seine beiden Direktoren, in die NSDAP einzutreten. Seine Präservative preist er jetzt als „siegreiche Qualitätsware“ an und kann sich nicht vorstellen, dass man ihn, den Saatstreuen Unternehmer und guten Steuerzahler einfach davonjagen wird. Doch bleiben all seine Zugeständnisse ohne Erfolg: auch sein Unternehmen fällt schließlich der „Arisierung“ zum Opfer. 1938 wird Julius Fromm gezwungen, seine Fabrik für einen Spottpreis an Görings Patentante zu verkaufen. Obwohl er trotz vieler Repressalien lange gezögert hatte, das Land zu verlassen, rettet er sich und die meisten Angehörigen seiner Familie im letzten Moment ins Exil nach London.

Diese Unternehmensgeschichte ist zugleich ein anschauliches Beispiel dafür, wie jüdische Firmen im Dritten Reich von Staat und Volk ausgeplündert wurden, für die Verbindung von ‚Arisierung’ und Korruption im Dritten Reich. Heute gibt es nur noch wenige Informationen über Julius Fromm, wichtige Quellen wie Firmenarchiv und Nachlass sind verloren, und deshalb will dieses Buch auch nicht mehr als ein „Schattenriss“ sein. Aly und Sontheimer haben Interviews mit einigen noch lebenden Verwandten Julius Fromms geführt. Den größten Teil der Erzählung aber stützen offizielle Dokumente aus dem „Dritten Reich“. In der zweiten Hälfte des Buches taucht Julius Fromm als aktive Figur so gut wie gar nicht mehr auf. So illustriert sogar die Erzählweise die Tatenlosigkeit, zu der Fromm nach seiner Flucht gezwungen war, während sich die Nationalsozialisten in Deutschland nach und nach auf verschlungenen bürokratischen Wegen sein Vermögen aneignen.

Was zunächst in Form von Anekdoten beginnt, endet notwendigerweise in der detaillierten Rekonstruktion von Vermögenswerten. Mehr und mehr lassen Aly und Sontheimer die Zahlen sprechen. Die Schilderung von Buchungsvorgängen auf Konten, die kommentarlose Aufzählung von Eigentumsverhältnissen zeigt die Ungeheuerlichkeit der Plünderung. Die Schilderung des Unrechts wird so beinahe unerträglich. Akribisch rekonstruieren Aly und Sontheimer die „Sozialisierung“ der zurückgelassenen Vermögenswerte Fromms. Seine Bankguthaben wurden als Kriegsanleihen der Reichskasse einverleibt. Seine Berliner Villa in der Rolandstraße ging 1943 nach der Deportation und Ermordung seiner dort verbliebenen Verwandten an einen Ritterkreuzträger. Der Hausrat wurde öffentlich versteigert, von wertvollen Möbeln bis zu einfachen Haushaltswaren: der Volksgenosse als Schnäppchenjäger. Schon in seinem Buch Hitlers Volksstaat hat Aly dargestellt, wie die Enteignung der Juden vom NS-Regime als legitimes Mittel angesehen wurde, um den Staatshaushalt zu entlasten. Die Plünderung von Fromms Besitz ist ein signifikantes Beispiel dafür, ein Einzelschicksal, an dem gezeigt wird, wie Hitlers „Gefälligkeitsdiktatur“ funktionierte. „Julius Fromm war unter die Räuber gefallen. Doch fiel er nicht einem Haufen von Banditen anheim, sondern einem Staat und dessen Bürgern“, fassen die Autoren zusammen. Sie schätzen, dass durch die Enteignung Fromms nach heutigem Wert etwa dreißig Millionen Euro eingenommen wurden.

Die DDR will Fromm nicht als Opfer des NS-Regimes sehen, sondern als „kapitalistischen Ausbeutertyp“ und stuft die Gummiwerke als „Vermögen von Kriegsverbrechern“ ein, um aus seinem Unternehmen einen volkseigenen Betrieb machen zu können. Und auch die BRD wird sich 1962 weigern, für das „Imstichlassen von Möbeln“ eine Entschädigung zu zahlen. Julius Fromm musste all das nicht mehr erleben. Er starb 1945 wenige Tage nach Kriegsende in London, wo er bis zuletzt die Hoffnung gehegt hatte, in seiner Fabrik bald wieder produzieren zu können.
Vorname Name

Von Patrizia Loacker, 01.10.2007