Matthes & Seitz Berlin



The publishing house Matthes & Seitz Berlin was acquired in February 2004 by Andreas Rötzer and Ursula Haeusgen. Since then the publishers have been continuing the tradition of the original Munich-based publisher Matthes & Seitz, which was founded by Axel Matthes and Claus Seitz in 1977.

Matthes & Seitz is dedicated to publishing works by authors, such as: Antonin Artaud, Georges Bataille, Michel Leiris, and de Sade. The series "Batteries" features works by Roland Barthes, Jean Baudrillard, and Leo Shestov as well as the Russian writer Marina Tsvetaeva and Theodor Lessing. In the publisher’s own words, individuality, freedom, and revolt have always been the basic pillars of the company’s philosophy. Another focus of the program is the non-fiction book series "Traversen" which aims to create a link between German and Rhaeto-Latin literature. Moreover, Matthes & Seitz Berlin has published the first German translation of Russian writer Varlam Tikhonovich Shalamov; a 10-volume edition of the field notes of entomologist Jean-Henri Fabre, and the complete works of Gerhard Ruhm. The publisher’s other prominant contemporary authors include: Jules Barbey d'Aurevilly, Maurice Leblanc, Michael Roes, Esther Kinsky and Christian Linder.

The publisher was awarded the Kurt Wolff Prize in 2008 for the diversity of classic and modern titles in its program, thus maintaining the tradition of the original publisher, exemplified by the editions of short stories by Varlam Shalamov and the poems by Oskar Maria Graf.