Matthes & Seitz Berlin

Berlin
Foreign rights
Home page: http://www.matthes-seitz-berlin.de/

Profile

The publishing house Matthes & Seitz Berlin was acquired in February 2004 by Andreas Rötzer and Ursula Haeusgen. Since then the publishers have been continuing the tradition of the original Munich-based publisher Matthes & Seitz, which was founded by Axel Matthes and Claus Seitz in 1977.

Matthes & Seitz is dedicated to publishing works by authors, such as: Antonin Artaud, Georges Bataille, Michel Leiris, and de Sade. The series "Batteries" features works by Roland Barthes, Jean Baudrillard, and Leo Shestov as well as the Russian writer Marina Tsvetaeva and Theodor Lessing. In the publisher’s own words, individuality, freedom, and revolt have always been the basic pillars of the company’s philosophy. Another focus of the program is the non-fiction book series "Traversen" which aims to create a link between German and Rhaeto-Latin literature. Moreover, Matthes & Seitz Berlin has published the first German translation of Russian writer Varlam Tikhonovich Shalamov; a 10-volume edition of the field notes of entomologist Jean-Henri Fabre, and the complete works of Gerhard Ruhm. The publisher’s other prominant contemporary authors include: Jules Barbey d'Aurevilly, Maurice Leblanc, Michael Roes, Esther Kinsky and Christian Linder.

The publisher was awarded the Kurt Wolff Prize in 2008 for the diversity of classic and modern titles in its program, thus maintaining the tradition of the original publisher, exemplified by the editions of short stories by Varlam Shalamov and the poems by Oskar Maria Graf.

Matthes & Seitz Berlin

Berlin
Kontakt für Auslandslizenzen
Verlagshomepage: http://www.matthes-seitz-berlin.de/

Verlagsporträt

​Der Verlag Matthes & Seitz Berlin wurde im Februar 2004 von Andreas Rötzer und Ursula Haeusgen übernommen. Er setzt die Tradition des Münchner Verlages Matthes & Seitz fort, den Axel Matthes und Claus Seitz 1977 gegründet hatten.

Der Verlag widmet sich unter anderem dem Werk von Antonin Artaud, Georges Bataille, Michel Leiris und de Sade. In der Reihe »Batterien« erschienen neben Werken von Roland Barthes, Jean Baudrillard und Leo Schestow auch Bücher der russischen Schriftstellerin Marina Zwetajewa sowie von Theodor Lessing. In der Selbstdarstellung heißt es: Individualität, Freiheit, Revolte waren stets die Grundsäulen des Verlags. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt des Sachbuchprogramms ist die Reihe »Traversen«, in der deutsche und romanische Wissenschaft eine Verbindung eingehen. Darüber hinaus erscheint bei Matthes & Seitz Berlin die erste deutsche Werkausgabe des russischen Schriftstellers Warlam Tichonowitsch Schalamow, eine 10-bändige Edition der Aufzeichnungen des Insektenforschers Jean-Henri Fabre sowie die Werkausgabe von Gerhard Rühm. Weitere aktuell wichtige Autoren des Verlags sind Jules Barbey d'Aurevilly, Maurice Leblanc, Michael Roes, Esther Kinsky und Christian Linder.

2008 erhielt der Verlag den Kurt-Wolff-Preis für die Vielfalt klassischer und moderner Titel, mit denen der Verlag seine Ursprungstradition wahrt, insbesondere die Editionen der Erzählungen von Warlam Schalamow und der Gedichte von Oskar Maria Graf.